We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, would recommend.”
Review of Somerville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somerville House
Ranked #6 of 33 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Myself my partner and our 9 month old baby stayed here for the weekend recently as we were going to a wedding locally. Lovely accommodation and lovely owner to match; welcoming, attentive and friendly. Great facilities for us as a family, travel cot, high chair and free rein of the microwave for sterilising all our bottles! As others have said breakfast is particularly good (delicious jam, that I later found out was home made), rooms are spacious clean and attractive. The house itself is very charming and the garden beautiful - wish we'd had more time to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings. If we could have stayed for another night we would have.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlucy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very worthy of 5 stars at a great price. We were welcomed with a cup of tea on the patio, fresh milk in the room and a smile. We had the smallest room, but it was perfectly equipped and ok for a night or two...only downside was lack of bath.
Great location...only 10 min walk to town. Plenty off-road parking.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FraserSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A perfect base to see Hereford and the surrounding countryside. Rosie and Bill are fantastic and could not do enough to make our weekend stay enjoyable. The breakfast is truly a feast and the variety should cover most palettes. The rooms are large airy and well appointed. With the British summer on the way the garden in the back is a wonderful place to soak up the afternoon sun with a pot tea or a cold drink.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EandJNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012 for a family function in Hereford. The place was easy to find and the owners happy to stay up for our rather late arrival .

The rooms were spotless, the linen and bedding was sumptuous, the bed, really comfortable. The choice of tea and coffees/hot chocolate in the room was great quality and the chocolate a bonus ! Internet connection was good, even down in the lower room were we were. Shower was good and the toiletries, good quality. Nice touches all round really.

Breakfast was excellent, a huge choice for all tastes catered for and superb quality, locally sourced produce. Huge choice of teas as well.

If found the slightly scatterbrained, Basil Fawltyesqe , nature of the owners to be TOTALLY endearing .They were lovely people and couldn't do enough for you .

The weather was terrible whilst we were there, but the garden was a beautiful space and would be lovely to sit in weather permitting !

Overall, I can highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this excellent Bed & Breakfast for seven nights and found it to be a perfect base to visit the surrounding area. The room, furnishings and staff were brilliant and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-Heath-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night last week for a theatre mini-break. The owners of the B&B were extremely helpful and friendly, and even made us tea in the sitting room on arrival. The place was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious and made from good quality local produce. The vegetarian cooked breakfast was excellent, with proper vegetarian sausages etc. rather than just being served a regular full English minus the meat! My partner assures me the full English was excellent too. It is in a good location for the town centre and it was excellent value for money. The owners clearly care about running an excellent and comfortable B&B rather than just making money. The atmosphere is very welcoming. We both thoroughly enjoyed staying there and will do so again if we ever go back to Hereford.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jijigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the only Five Star accomodation in Hereford and it properly lives up to it. It is pleasant, run by delightful people, and within walking distance of the City Centre without being too central. Hereford is mainly an agricultural city, with a beautiful cathedral, also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others but they all have an individual and delightful character and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerkmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville House

Address: 12 Bodenham Road, Hereford HR1 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range: $106 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Somerville House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerville House is a beautiful detached Victorian villa, dating back to 1895, in a tree-lined residential road, offering 'boutique' hotel style Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and blending the luxury and comfort of a good hotel with warm and friendly service. We have 12 en suite rooms, arranged on ground, lower-ground, and first and second floors, with free wifi available in all.The large superior rooms and charming top floor rooms, with interesting beam features, are decorated in a contemporary style, contrasting with and enhancing the many original features - the glorious tesselated entrance hall floor, tiny plaster cupid heads, and the grand marble fireplaces. 5 mins walk railway station, 10 minutes walk city centre, free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Somerville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing