We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somerville House
Ranked #7 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very worthy of 5 stars at a great price. We were welcomed with a cup of tea on the patio, fresh milk in the room and a smile. We had the smallest room, but it was perfectly equipped and ok for a night or two...only downside was lack of bath.
Great location...only 10 min walk to town. Plenty off-road parking.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FraserSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    36
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
111
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A perfect base to see Hereford and the surrounding countryside. Rosie and Bill are fantastic and could not do enough to make our weekend stay enjoyable. The breakfast is truly a feast and the variety should cover most palettes. The rooms are large airy and well appointed. With the British summer on the way the garden in the back is a wonderful place to soak up the afternoon sun with a pot tea or a cold drink.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandJNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012 for a family function in Hereford. The place was easy to find and the owners happy to stay up for our rather late arrival .

The rooms were spotless, the linen and bedding was sumptuous, the bed, really comfortable. The choice of tea and coffees/hot chocolate in the room was great quality and the chocolate a bonus ! Internet connection was good, even down in the lower room were we were. Shower was good and the toiletries, good quality. Nice touches all round really.

Breakfast was excellent, a huge choice for all tastes catered for and superb quality, locally sourced produce. Huge choice of teas as well.

If found the slightly scatterbrained, Basil Fawltyesqe , nature of the owners to be TOTALLY endearing .They were lovely people and couldn't do enough for you .

The weather was terrible whilst we were there, but the garden was a beautiful space and would be lovely to sit in weather permitting !

Overall, I can highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this excellent Bed & Breakfast for seven nights and found it to be a perfect base to visit the surrounding area. The room, furnishings and staff were brilliant and the breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Heath-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night last week for a theatre mini-break. The owners of the B&B were extremely helpful and friendly, and even made us tea in the sitting room on arrival. The place was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious and made from good quality local produce. The vegetarian cooked breakfast was excellent, with proper vegetarian sausages etc. rather than just being served a regular full English minus the meat! My partner assures me the full English was excellent too. It is in a good location for the town centre and it was excellent value for money. The owners clearly care about running an excellent and comfortable B&B rather than just making money. The atmosphere is very welcoming. We both thoroughly enjoyed staying there and will do so again if we ever go back to Hereford.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jijigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the only Five Star accomodation in Hereford and it properly lives up to it. It is pleasant, run by delightful people, and within walking distance of the City Centre without being too central. Hereford is mainly an agricultural city, with a beautiful cathedral, also within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others but they all have an individual and delightful character and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerkmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time we have. Stayed at Somerville in two years. The room we stayed in this time was a little smaller but just as nice. Lots of stairs but there is always help with bags. We arrived late but had a warm welcome. Good off street parking ands great bed. Breakfast was delightful and filling. Would stay again, good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 13 in Hereford
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
283 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville House

Property: Somerville House
Address: 12 Bodenham Road, Hereford HR1 2TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Somerville House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerville House is a beautiful detached Victorian villa, dating back to 1895, in a tree-lined residential road, offering 'boutique' hotel style Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and blending the luxury and comfort of a good hotel with warm and friendly service. We have 12 en suite rooms, arranged on ground, lower-ground, and first and second floors, with free wifi available in all.The large superior rooms and charming top floor rooms, with interesting beam features, are decorated in a contemporary style, contrasting with and enhancing the many original features - the glorious tesselated entrance hall floor, tiny plaster cupid heads, and the grand marble fireplaces. 5 mins walk railway station, 10 minutes walk city centre, free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing