We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic charming B&B experience”
Review of Somerville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerville House
Ranked #6 of 33 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very recently, we stayed several nights at this charming B&B in Hereford. After a long, long day of air travel coupled with a drive across England, we wearily arrived to our room to be welcomed by a most comfortable bed fitted with luxury linens. The bathroom had modern amenities with ample high-end shampoos, soaps, etc. The only negative was that the bathroom sink had your classic English-style separated hot and cold water faucets. I’ve never understood how that still exists in England to this day.

The breakfast is fresh and delicious and seems to be made from the heart by the owners. The owners themselves are an elderly British couple who will regale you with fascinating stories if you let them.

The location is in town, close to the restaurants and bars and so forth. However, those places are not within walking distance. You would need to drive or take a taxi for maybe a few minutes. The Somerville House is located in a peacefully quiet area so at night, you will not here anything outside.

Staying here was a quintessential B&B experience. I would definitely recommend it if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear bt_mpls_traveler from Managua, Nicaragua! I am delighted to read that you found staying at Somerville House a quintessential B&B experience. Gosh! It was great having guests from so far away as Nicaragua! It is funny how people from different countries have different preferences in things like plumbing. I have a mixer tap in the sink in my own bathroom, but I am very suspicious of it, and, being English, I think I would prefer separate taps! We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again to Hereford in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Decided to stay here after an unpleasant stay at the Green Dragon the previous year. Lovely property, and only a ten minute or so walk into the centre of Hereford.

Stayed in a superior double,very reasonable at £75/night and it was enormous! Room ten - on the ground floor opposite the reception desk. Great bed, good ensuite (no bath), minibar and free wireless. Made for a very comfortable stay.

Breakfast was ok, would have preferred kellogg's cornflakes ;-) (I think what they had were probably organic...but not as nice!). Coffee served in an individual cafetiere which was a nice touch. Didn't go for the cooked but had toast with homemade jams etc.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room ten was enormous and well appointed, though on the ground floor and opposite reception. I wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear David W. Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you found the hotel well located for exploring the centre of Hereford. The price you paid was good - it was a bargain Low Season rate and enormous Room 10 is normally a higher price! The cornflakes were "Whole Earth" which you rightly say are organic. We will look out for Kelloggs introducing an organic range as this is what we look for. The Whole Earth cornflakes are also gluten free, which may affect the taste. We look forward to seeing you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in room 3, a large spacious room with a nice bathroom. The owners and staff were all very nice and the breakfast was excellent.

Great value excellent location an easy one to recommend for anyone else

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincolnshire_hardys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Lincolnshire_hardys, I am so glad you enjoyed your experience, staying at Sormville House in Hereford, and particularly that you recommmend our accommodation to anyone else travelling in our location! Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A great bed and breakfast. Lovely room and great hospitality. Clean and comfortable. Had a fridge in my room which had yummy local produce to munch on and drink which was a really nice touch. I would recommend this one to all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Claire B from Taunton. Thank you for your lovely review and glad you appreciated the yummy local produced eat and drink things we have chosen for our guests to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very nice b and b. Good wi fi and a desk which made working easy. Good location for the centre and very close to the station, the breakfast was excellent. Of note was the mini bar in the room. Everything was local and the prices were very reasonable, a pleasant change from most hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dm41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Dm_42. All the way from Iceland! I am so glad you found your stay at Somerville House so pleasant, in terms of the location near the railway station and convenience for the city centre. We are pleased that you also enjoyed the accommodation, including the items we had chosen for the mini-bar, reflecting the best from our region. We hope to see you again in the future if your business brings you to Hereford. Best wishes Rosie and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A fabulous luxury b&b. Rooms are luxurious finished and well appointed with everythine you can think of. I was staying in Room 5 with great views over Hereford and a fabulous super king size bed. Even the mini bar was well thought out with local produce, beer, wine, cider, etc., with extremely good pricing. The breakfast was delicious with again local produce and amazing variety. I can certainly recommend this b&b, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and it is spotlessly clean!! If you visit Hereford ensure you stay here!! Fantastic! Amber x

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Amber M, Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville House and appreciated what we have put in place for the comfort and enjoyment of our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here from the 19th to the 22nd December having travelled from Jersey. We arrived late but were very warmly welcomed by the owners. Very good room with all facilities and a personal touch each time. There was nothing they found too much to do. They recommended a takeaway and even laid out a table for us to enjoy our takeaway meal. That was something I have never seen anywhere else and I have travelled a lot around the world.
Breakfast was excellent served with a personal touch and customised to your needs. None of that ' here's your plate, there you go' stuff. And the home made marmalades and local produce were excellent.
I would strongly recommend this place and have booked another stay in March already.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Chandrase of Jersey. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Somerville house just before Xmas, as we enjoyed having you as our guests. We look foward to seeing you later on in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
467 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville House

Address: 12 Bodenham Road, Hereford HR1 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Somerville House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerville House is a beautiful detached Victorian villa, dating back to 1895, in a tree-lined residential road, offering 'boutique' hotel style Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and blending the luxury and comfort of a good hotel with warm and friendly service. We have 12 en suite rooms, arranged on ground, lower-ground, and first and second floors, with free wifi available in all.The large superior rooms and charming top floor rooms, with interesting beam features, are decorated in a contemporary style, contrasting with and enhancing the many original features - the glorious tesselated entrance hall floor, tiny plaster cupid heads, and the grand marble fireplaces. 5 mins walk railway station, 10 minutes walk city centre, free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing