We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a bed & breakfast”
Review of Somerville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerville House
Ranked #7 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A gem of a bed & breakfast”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

No wonder it is rated as the #1 B&B is Hereford (when I googled): great, friendly welcome throughout by the hosts, superb breakfast (biggest slice of bacon I have seen!) and a spanking clean, spacious, bright room with a decently stocked minibar. We didn't need the free wifi on offer but that's nice for business travellers.

The only improvement possible would be cable TV - but notwithstanding, the value for money overall is fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelduck822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    37
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
114
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had high expectations having been told that we had chosen the best place to stay in Hereford. All our expectations were met or exceeded. Warm welcome and tea in the garden while the owners helped us choose a restaurant and plan our short stay (one night only). We had a room downstairs which was beautifully decorated and appointed. Lovely sitting room. Excellent breakfast. Would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My mother and I stayed in this hotel while i was in the area for a job interview. The Hotel is very close to the train station and an acceptable walking distance into the town. We had booked a small double room and it was fantastic, not at all as small as we expected and a very comfortable bed with fantastic views. All of the staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic, loads of options and fresh local produce and homemade preserves really made this hotel exceed out expectations. We would thoroughly reccomend the hotel to all

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

An excellent 2-day stay at Somerville House. The owners go out of their way to make sure all the little things are right - real milk in the fridge, bathrobes and more luxurious toilet paper than I have ever bought myself!
I especially enjoyed tea in the lounge after coming home from a cold and wet day at the Hay Literary Festival.
On top of everything, after a four-hour drive home, Rosie rang to tell me I'd left something behind in the room and she would send it on to me. This kind of service is what you pay for, and I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Hereford.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suz1186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and it is a wonderful B and B - comfortable, lovely rooms and very welcoming hosts - extremely relaxed and kind.
would always return if in the area... .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The previous reviews sum the hotel up quite well. Would I stop again, absolutely. Would I recommend to others yes. I stayed for one night during a business trip and would not hesitate staying again with my wife.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Somerville house for two very comfortable nights. Our bed was very comfortable and the black out blinds on the velux windows were amazing, you think it is the middle of the night when there is blazing sun, all helping in getting an excellent sleep.

We had no issues with car parking and found the location of the house excellent for getting into Hereford but was also only a 10 min walk from the train station

Breakfast was good with a good selection of items and Rosie was very helpful providing suggestions of things to visit and see in the area

The only very minor negative that I would mention is that it took a while to get access when we arrived although we rung the door bell several times. Admittedly we arrived later than we had stated and once we rung the phone number of the house we got access straight away.

Lovely B&B for a stay in Hereford

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank highland_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville House

Property: Somerville House
Address: 12 Bodenham Road, Hereford HR1 2TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Somerville House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerville House is a beautiful detached Victorian villa, dating back to 1895, in a tree-lined residential road, offering 'boutique' hotel style Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and blending the luxury and comfort of a good hotel with warm and friendly service. We have 12 en suite rooms, arranged on ground, lower-ground, and first and second floors, with free wifi available in all.The large superior rooms and charming top floor rooms, with interesting beam features, are decorated in a contemporary style, contrasting with and enhancing the many original features - the glorious tesselated entrance hall floor, tiny plaster cupid heads, and the grand marble fireplaces. 5 mins walk railway station, 10 minutes walk city centre, free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Somerville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing