We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Flattish ParkRun

Lots of parking at the Leisure Centre. A two and a bit lap course. Friendly volunteers. Almost... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ElaineS78
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Nice little course

We visited Hereford Racecourse on 27 March. We only used the owner trainer facilities. However, the... read more

Reviewed April 1, 2018
Paul H
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
13
14
13
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
14
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridge restaurant leisure centre riding rusty facilities life box
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of parking at the Leisure Centre. A two and a bit lap course. Friendly volunteers. Almost flat, I didn't really notice the up incline but the downward stretch near the end is lovely.

Thank ElaineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First day of new season & some of the toilets in the gents hadn't got locks on doors & large holes in the doors as well. First day of the new season important things like this should have been sorted in my opinion. Come on Hereford racecourse get the basics right.

1  Thank johnpMalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. We have checked the toilets and all doors on the Gents do have locks that work? With regard to the holes in the doors, these are from previous locks that were changed and we do accept these look poor. It is our intention to refurbish the main toilets in 2019, like we have done elsewhere around our site this year and hope that if you do retrun you will see a considerable improvement then. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great day out would recomend the function to anyone who is in the area. Great atmosphere you will enjoy it

Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback, delighted you had a good day at the races and hope you'll come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

New chef in the stunning Rusty Bridge restaurant and wow what an amazing culinary delight he brings. Absolutely fantastic day all round at this beautiful racecourse. Thank you

1  Thank billybear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

We visited Hereford Racecourse on 27 March. We only used the owner trainer facilities. However, the staff we met where very helpful and professional. We had a little walk around the paddock etc and found the facilities to be very good. I would definitely visit the course again.

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thanks for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit on Irish Day (27th March) and look foreward to hopefully welcoming you back again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely time in Rusty Bridge box at Irish Racing day. Everything was brilliant. Great food great service and great racing

Thank billybear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2018 via mobile

So glad this course has reopened. Such a good days racing. Nice compact course and the facilities were good. Staff friendly. Good to see a place like this getting a new lease of life and not closing down. Racing fans get there for a great day out. Try portway Inn for some where to stay.

1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thanks for the feedback, glad you have enjoyed visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Massive Thank You for a wonderful day in Rusty Bridge Restaurant and racing. Weather all week against them the management and staff put on a beautiful day and the course looked stunning. Food drink and racing brilliant. See you next year Bill and Patsy

Thank billybear2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit. The team were determined that 7 inches of snow was not going to prevent the raceday happening, thank you for acknowledging their hard work. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

It is fantastic to see the racecourse open again. For a small course it has an impressive view from all enclosures. It was nice to see that it had been given a lick of paint in the run up to being reopened.

A conscious effort seems to have been made to increase the prize money which will undoubtedly bring bigger and better fields. Presumably some of this money has been provided by local businesses lending their support. It's a shame then that the course doesn't seem to be reciprocating this by supporting local companies via their food and beverage offering.

As a county Herefordshire has some of the best cider, beer and meat producers in the country. It seems bizarre then that all that is on offer is poor quality food at exorbitant prices (even for a racecourse) and generic keg beers at almost a fiver a pint. We have regularly been visiting a nearby pub before the meetings as a convenient alternative.

I think there needs to be a serious rethink with regard to membership cost as frankly the numbers didn't add up and would have required attending every meeting which will be unrealistic for most people. Considering there are special offers on ticketing the membership would have been even less attractive.

It's early days and we will continue to support the course but a glance towards Ludlow shows what can be done at a small rural course.

Thank Taff1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thank you for your review, and the points you raise. Where possible we do try to support local business, for example we have a strong partnership with Herefordshire based Chase Vodka and where possible we also place our business contracts within the County, ie site cleaning, printing etc to support the local economy. We provide a Hereford Beef Stew in the Owners & Trainer to draw links with the locality and Hereford Beef and our menu in Rusty Bridge Restaurant will change throughout 2017/2018 to also reflect local produce where we can. Our Reopening Anniversary Cider & Sausage raceday on Tuesday 17th October also aims to showcase local cider and sausage producers. I hope that you will visit us again, and thanks again fore the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

Used to go to the races here every bank holiday as a teenager. Very happy to be back in retirement and take my 86 year old dad! It is a bit tired in places if you look hard but that's part of its charm. All areas really accessible, fantastic views and friendly atmosphere. Good racing too. Had the "pie and pint" option last time which was pretty good. My only real criticism is getting out of the course which needs more organisation as it takes ages and nerves of steel! Traffic through Hereford is also a nightmare (not the courses fault) so allow plenty of time to get there. Recommended

Thank Clarenineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Manager at Hereford Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thanks for your feedback, and good to hear you enjoyed your visit. We have improved the exit signage in the car park over the summer, which will hopefully aid egress. Throughout the season we will be offering the Raceday package again so do look out for those. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews