We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
9
5
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip wire the ice cream shop herefordshire countryside caravan shower
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely little site. It was busy on the weekend we stayed and although only 2 toilets there didn’t seem to be too much of a queue.
Only 2 showers as well but again this didn’t cause a problem!
Very simple and peaceful site with fabulous views.
Plenty of space and woodland walks - we were a mixed group of 15 children and adults who enjoyed it all including the zip wire!
The ice cream shop is the perfect way to finish a lovely day.
We would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Chickenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

A fantastic small campsite, with a brilliant playground and adventure trail for the kids, set in the stunning Herefordshire countryside. Our trip was cut short due to the dire weather however the small glimpse we had of the sun was lovely. We will be returning, the ice cream is exceptional.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

I would like to writing a glowing review for Rowlestone Court, but this isn't going to happen as our potential booking was (rather rudely) turned down.

On the campsite's own website, they describe how welcome groups are and even list college reunions as an example. Since that's what our group was, I rang to book. I was told they didn't want group bookings because the children "take over the play areas" and they've received complaints from the neighbours.

That's fine, but don't waste people's time by promoting yourself as a site that welcomes groups.
The sweeping generalisations really grated as we're not actually a bunch of lairy yobbos. We're mostly in our 40s and have been camping for decades and know how to respect these places.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bagspacked B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We recently spent two weeks at Rowlestone Court, unfortunately the weather wasn’t very good, very wet, it didn’t help that the grass was so long, every time you went out your feet got soaked.
The showers although only 2 on site were very good, always hot. There were only 2 toilets, when the café was opened for snacks and ice cream it became your busy, and often had to queue, as the general public used them as well.
The ice cream was very good, we had quite a few.
We did walk to Ewyas Harold about 30 minutes’ walk through the kid play area. In Ewyas Harold there is a very nice Fish and Chip/ Kebab Shop, a good General Stores and two pubs, we use the Dog as we were able to buy our fish and chips, take them into the pub and eat them with a beer.
In Pontrilas there is a Post Office/ General Store and Café which is run to support the local charity C.A.R.E the owner was very keen and helpful, the cream tea was very nice.
Although the site was very nice, it is a working farm. We felt for us, that it was a bit too far from the sights that we wanted to see, as you had to drive all the time.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank rwhills080151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

I have been coming here with friends and family every year- sometimes twice a year- since 2010. It's quickly become our favourite place in the world. It has wonderful, rural views of both Welsh and Emglish countryside, friendly and efficient staff, walks through the woodland, and plenty of gorgeous castles to visit within easy driving distance. The rare sheep and cattle in the field opposite the campers provide a lovely atmosphere, and many of them certainly don't mind coming up to the fence for a visit! The ice cream is better than anywhere else in the country- all the awards that the Williams have gained are fully deserved! I get the impression that that some reviewers are under the impression that nature needs to be somehow childproofed, and are unaware that with fields and woodland will come "rough" beauty, not the artificial, manicured lawns that they are evidently used to.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank 90PercentEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews