We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hideaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House
Ranked #17 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were invited to a wedding last week at this amazing place! The house is beautiful and has an eccentric charm to it. The main lounge is a beautiful big wooden floored room with chandeliers, boos and stuffed animals. It is very stately and has a welcoming fire to warm you up!

Our bedroom was the Wilde room - it was lovely with a mix of modern and period features. Power shower was brilliant. The staff were really helpful and happy for you to go into the kitchen to help yourself. Food was nice and lots to explore. The modern art rooms in the basement were interesting and thought provoking !!!!

Worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you want to be in the house don't go for the potting shed rooms outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
45
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We held an inspiring Staff & Trustee corporate away day at Great Brampton House on 20th Nov 2013. The house is an amazing and eclectic mix of art gallery and palatial small hotel. We found the space to be the perfect setting for a creative and productive day. Plenty of comfortable space and breakout rooms We were looked after wonderfully by GBH staff and I cannot recommend this venue highly enough for any corporate, creative or team building day. We are all very much hoping we will be able to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y9515XZJuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

A unique and homely place to stay. We were looking for somewhere special to wind down after our wedding and what a wonderful find this was. It is a gorgeous home where you are made to feel relaxed, excellent facilities from the tennis courts to the basement cinema. All staff were wonderful and ensured that we were well looked after.

The Dewar's

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreafry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful country house. The setting is magnificent and the hotel staff cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. The house itself is charming and you will need all week-end just to tour and take note of all the wonderful memorabilia that the owners have collected and displayed. Just glad I don't have to do the dusting

Decided on October for our visit but will definitely visit again in Spring/Summer to do justice to the wonderful location and to spend time out doors enjoying its many pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are so different. If you want to have an experience of a four poster then ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_greatbrampton, Manager at Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your wonderful comments, we are very pleased the Decor was to your liking, we look forward to seeing you again in the Spring

Kindest Regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend with wonderful friends at Great Brampton. A surprise in every room, fabulous antiques and exciting unusual articles. The gardens are well worth a visit and the cinema room certainly has a wow factor. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We will certainly recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Granny's cottage, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_greatbrampton, Manager at Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was lovley to have you four with us, thank you for being wonderful guests to look after, all the very best to you all

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having visited this fantastic place once we re booked while still there and will now have stayed at the house 4 time this year.
You may ask why.
Sueanne and her team go over and beyond to make your stay the best that you can have. And the friendly atmosphere and you are allowed to wonder to all rooms looking at a prestigious building that no expense has been spared to maintain and its contents.
The food is outstanding and the place to go to relax and walk the vast grounds you will be amazed at what you come across also meeting and chatting to Martin Miller and his wife who are both so friendly was a special surprise.

Sueanna we are looking forward to coming back and meeting you your wonderful and Frank and Cathleen other guests that have returned.

Outstanding House, wonderful grounds, Fantastic staff,
we have paid a lot more to stay at places not half as good as Great Brampton House.

A big Well done Martin your family Sueanne and your team. for letting us come and find the wonders that you maintained and installed its a credit to you all.

Thanks
Pat & Patsy

Room Tip: which ever room you have you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patpatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_greatbrampton, Manager at Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your wonderful comments, you both are a joy to look after and all the staff look forward to your return :)

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having spotted this place i couldnt resist booking a 1 night stay as a birthday treat for my partner at the end of september. Even if you read no further... we enjoyed our stay in this great hotel so much we stayed an unplanned 2nd night.
Even though i knew what to expect from piccys both of us were so pleased.
The external approach to the hotel was spectacular visually, and set the quirky tone with the sheep!
Arriving in the hotel we settled in the wedgewood room for our yummy afternoon tea, every surface is covered with interest & oddities.... even by the end of our stay we felt we hadnt seen everything in this room alone or the rest of the hotel. We were given a tour which was good as im sure we wouldnt have discovered everything, even with the tour we managed to lose our way later in our stay.The quirkiness was throughout complimenting the lovely decor & grandeur of the house.
The deluxe double on our 1st night was very nice with a lovely shower/wet room. The bed was comfy, and there was a few other guests so it was peaceful. As i mentioned earlier we stayed a second unplanned night, as the main hotel was fully booked we stayed in a cottage in the grounds. It didnt have quite the grandeur/lushness of the main house room but was lovely in the secluded cosiness it gave us and as the hotel was fully booked which naturally adds noisiness it suited us. We had a nose at some of the other unoccupied rooms on our first night and they all looks fabulous.
The facilities were very good, games rooms, small gym area, and our favourite the cinema room... which we took great advantage of!!! There was also the complimentary drinks as there is currently no alcohol license.
Breakfast was tasty on both mornings, good selection to choose from. We didnt eat dinner here on this occasion but im sure we will on future visits. The sweets dotted around the house were a nice touch.
Service wise, Sueanne and the team were lovely. Very friendly and interested in our thoughts, and always there to help if we wanted anything. However we didnt feel it was accompanied with some of the 'pomp' of other 5* hotels which was to our preference. It felt like a comfy home and we were happy to curl up on the sofa in front of the fire or wander around shoeless/blanket on shoulders from cinema room to grab a drink etc...
The hotel is such a gem, i dont think there is any doubt we will be visiting again... cant wait!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raggle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_greatbrampton, Manager at Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your wonderful review, it shows that we are doing our job correctly and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future :)

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
6.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
5.5 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
7.1 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Somerville House
Somerville House
#7 of 37 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House

Property: Miller's Hideaway at Great Brampton House
Address: Great Brampton House, Hereford HR2 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin and Ioana Miller welcome you to Miller’s Hideaway at Great Brampton House, Herefordshire. Snuggling on the Welsh borders, set in England’s most outstanding countryside and its own private groundsWhether you wish to stay overnight at a country house hotel, treat yourself to luxury bed and breakfast or host an exclusive house party for that special celebration. You’re invited to make Miller’s Hideaway your home away from home. "Unbelievably gorgeous weekend away!" Delighted Kitty Our concept is simple; to provide you with a retreat from 21st century pressures in elegant yet comfortable surroundings. As you languish in a deep sofa by the fire, sipping a Martin Miller’s Gin and tonic, you will discover we also believe in friendly chats, relaxed elegance and eclectic informality.Perfect for those seeking the traditional ambience of an eccentric country mansion. Great Brampton also houses a huge collection of antiques, quirky art and wonderful curiosities sure to fascinate and intrigue you. All beautifully displayed in Martin Miller’s inimitable style. "Luscious in every respect!" Chester Rose We pride ourselves on delicious, locally sourced, English food, made with herbs and vegetables grown in our kitchen gardens. Along with a breakfast well worth waking up for, made with eggs from our very own chickens. In the evening, we offer a buffet supper from Tuesday to Saturday, including table wine and complimentary bar, served in our opulent, candlelit 24 seater dining room. Whilst for lunch we can recommend some excellent local restaurants and inns. "Such Fun!" Cory Lush Whether playing cluedo, a late night game of bridge, scrabble by the lake, or chalking up a cue in our full sized billiard room; you will find that Great Brampton House has a wonderful range of activities. Including a cinema with a huge collection of films to entertain you, a gym to invigorate you, an outdoor tennis court and even a croquet lawn.The surrounding counties of Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Gloucestershire and the Welsh Marches also host their own fascinating and peculiar festivals and events. Plus we can arrange a variety of entertainments and activities to make your stay even more perfect.Go on, spoil yourself, you deserve it! Escape, wind down, do nothing, or do everything, the choice is yours. Martin and Ioana Miller look forward to having you stay here soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing