We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Host of Golden Daffodils”
Review of The Weir Garden

The Weir Garden
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brit Abroad
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Host of Golden Daffodils”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I usually go here at daffodil time - there are loads of them covering the banks down to the river and it's just an amazing sight! Lovely place for a peaceful stroll.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank puddleduck1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    76
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Autumn sunshine.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A wonderfully tranquil garden alongside the river Wye with easy walks.Interesting to see the remains of Roman riverside works and the nearby walled garden.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great NT property”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a National Trust property and is basically a woodland garden and a walled garden. We enjoyed the walk by the River Wye. Well worth going here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views. Peaceful area”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I have only been to visit once but will definitely go back at different times of the year to see how the gardens change. The greenhouse and walled garden were filled with different types of plants. It was lovely to sit by the river on the deck chairs. I went near the end of the day and didn't feel rushed at all, the lady was very kind and informative

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_46123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a place that would be suitable anytime of year, apart from when there's snow on the ground. My husband and I went there this afternoon just to finish off our holiday and we could have quite easily still be away on holiday. It's worth visiting these gardens a couple of times throughout the year to see the changes of the season. If you are visiting while you are on holiday it's worth combining it with something else.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Weir Garden also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Weir Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing