We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice spot!”
Review of Castle House

Castle House
Ranked #37 of 253 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really nice spot!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A great little hotel, just off the centre of town. The room was superb, and the service was prompt and efficient. Highly recommended!

I stayed in a town house room, which was very nicely decorated and excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 483markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burghill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We used to eat here a lot and have not been for over a year. We believe that a 4 star hotel restaurant should really be about choices but the menu we had was extremely limited, our main course and dessert were good but the starters left a lot to be desired.
I will give it a miss for another year and hopefully things will improve. The hotel is lovely but the dining experience needs to improve and we do believe it is value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank centre-of-the-line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not good enough food for the setting”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was delighted by the appearance of the hotel, the restaurant and the area outside by the river. Frankly the food simply did not measure up to the prices and the over zealous service nearly drove me mad! To be-asked several times the same questions by 3/4 staff suggests the management has simply not get service sorted and properly organised. All the staff seemed to be serving everybody! The food was expensive and was arranged attractively but lacked imagination and quality. The Hereford Rib Eye beef for £18 mentioned by others was of a quality which suggested either the butcher or the restaurant are getting very rich. The glutinous lemon posset was poor and even the coffee could have been better presented. This hotel has pretensions to be Hereford's best but management needs to rethink its lunchtime performance.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Location”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night whislt touring. We wanted to see Hereford and we found this hotel was the perfect loction to do this. Couldnt have been more central but on a quiet back street with a pleasant setting by the moat remains Nice views of the Cathedral from the hotel gardens.
We stayed in the Bellingham Suite which was very comfortable and spacious.A nice sitting area and a completely seperate bathroom made the room feel very spacious. We had a door opening out onto the garden which we used quite a lot to sit out in the garden. The entrance to the sute is seprate from the hotel which I also liked.Enjoyed the good quality breakfast.Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. The Cathedral is a very short stroll away and the town centre on your doorstep.Would definitly stay here again. Not cheap but worth it for the location and comfort factor

The area immediatly ouside the room is used as a walkway for the kitchen staff but this didnt bother us.The bathrobes were hidden packaged up in the wardrobe so we didnt find them until we were leaving.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

No choice of tea was offered, service was slow. Sandwich selection was poor, i.e. grated cheese and tomato, egg and cress etc and the tomato tasted stale. The scones were quite nice though and served warm. The seating was very uncomfortable; tea was served at a coffee table surrounded by sofas in the lobby to the dining room, so you had to perch on the edge of your seat to eat. The cakes were also disappointing, a square of lemon drizzle and miniature chocolate cupcake. Overall disappointing and poor value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle House also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing