We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House

Castle House
Ranked #32 of 253 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night whislt touring. We wanted to see Hereford and we found this hotel was the perfect loction to do this. Couldnt have been more central but on a quiet back street with a pleasant setting by the moat remains Nice views of the Cathedral from the hotel gardens.
We stayed in the Bellingham Suite which was very comfortable and spacious.A nice sitting area and a completely seperate bathroom made the room feel very spacious. We had a door opening out onto the garden which we used quite a lot to sit out in the garden. The entrance to the sute is seprate from the hotel which I also liked.Enjoyed the good quality breakfast.Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. The Cathedral is a very short stroll away and the town centre on your doorstep.Would definitly stay here again. Not cheap but worth it for the location and comfort factor

The area immediatly ouside the room is used as a walkway for the kitchen staff but this didnt bother us.The bathrobes were hidden packaged up in the wardrobe so we didnt find them until we were leaving.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

No choice of tea was offered, service was slow. Sandwich selection was poor, i.e. grated cheese and tomato, egg and cress etc and the tomato tasted stale. The scones were quite nice though and served warm. The seating was very uncomfortable; tea was served at a coffee table surrounded by sofas in the lobby to the dining room, so you had to perch on the edge of your seat to eat. The cakes were also disappointing, a square of lemon drizzle and miniature chocolate cupcake. Overall disappointing and poor value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slow Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went to the hotel for an afternoon tea. Had booked a table in the garden. Upon arrival were sat down and given menus. About 15mins later a waiter went to a table nearby, but then walked past us without taking an order. We had to ask him to take the order. We had ordered tea, sandwiches, scones and cake. Tea came about 10mins later, but the sandwiches arrived another 20mins later. Tea by this tome was almost cold. Sandwiches were ok, but scones and cake were quite poor in quality and very small. Overall a poor experience. Certainly not worth the money charged

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bundicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Hereford?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

In my view yes. Hereford: too many dingy pubs, indifferent or worse Indian restaurants, what happened to the gourmet reputation the wider area enjoys? Castle House is not exactly cheap but it is good value. Posh, but not too posh. The menu usually has an acceptable fish or veggie option if you do not want Hereford beef.

On my last visit I enjoyed a plaice starter. (Tip avoid the raw cod if it is still on the menu - not up to the usual standard anyway in my opinion). I had the veggie main which apart from the salt in the over salted mushroom spinach portion was very nice. My partner, the lady wife, had the wild trout which was very good. (It usually comes with chorizo which she declined.)

I can also attest that the meat dishes are good. The desserts are usually very nice if you get that far. Wine list could do with a wider selection of by the glass wines but you should be able to find something you like.

Service - above average for a luxury hotel. You need to book in advance most weekends as guests have priority.

Try it (if you check out the menu and approve).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCN42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I felt the lunch menu was seriously uninspiring though the food tasted good.
The vegitarian choices were very limited. The prices were high for what we got considering its a bar menu £18 may be a little high for a steak.
The drinks menu was great and the spirit selecton superb!
Staff knowledge was limited which was disappointing. I would have liked to have been told which cheeses were on the cheese board.
I will return when i'm in Hereford again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle House also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Much Birch, Hereford
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing