We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle House

Castle House
Ranked #34 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I went with my parents for afternoon tea. The waiter was very polite and helpful, suggesting two teas between us. A good idea as we had plenty. The tea choice was good and came in leaf firm with plenty of hot water.
The tea of sandwiches, scones and cakes was mixed. The sandwiches had crusts and the white bread on he salmon was a Little dry. The egg and ham were nothing to write home about
The scones were delicious and warm. They came with plenty if jam and clotted cream. The lemon cake was as light as a feather and delicious.
Next time we will order the scone tea.
The room where tea is served is next to the restaurant and very comfortable, although some if the furnishings are a little tired.
We were not rushed and found the price for set tea better than a lot if other venues.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    38
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service, let down by average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We held our Wedding Reception at the Castle House's 'sister venture' (The Left Bank), just after it opened and spent the first couple of nights of our marriage in the honeymoon suite at the Castle House, so we were keen to return to see whether it was still as good, taking my parents as a treat

It's a beautiful hotel, well kept, with lovely views and an outside area which would be lovely when the weather warms up a little.

The chef clearly spent a great deal of time making sure that the food was presented beautifully, but it's just a shame a little more of that time wasn't spent on making sure it tasted as good as it looked.
On the whole, we found the food a little bland and certainly lacking in seasoning.

Not cheap by Hereford's standards and when paying 'top dollar', you expect matching food and service.... the service delivered, but the food didn't; which was a real shame.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The best Dinner inHereford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

You have just got to go for dinner to the castle House hotel in Hereford - near the Cathedral. Family run it is a marvellous boutique hotel with fantastic food, very professional and friendly staff in an excellent location. Make sure if you dine out only once during your stay it is for Dinner at the Castle House Hotel - it is divine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A step above the high street offering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had seen the Castle House in the good food guide so hunted it out. On route we didn't find an alternative place that wasn't a chain high street eating venue.

We ate in the small bar eating area which lacked atmosphere but this was improved when they played music into the place. The food however was very nice. It's was good quality and tasty for a lunchtime menu.

We had a 2 course meal with no alcohol at £25 a head which felt reasonable for the quality of food. The food was delicious and well cooked.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Classy formal restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Delightful formal restaurant in lovely Hotel adjacent to the river
Ambience excellent and Chef Claire Nicholls is first rate. Scallop dish top notch, followed by tasty well cooked chicken. Rib eye steak a little disappointing in quality. Desserts more than satisfactory.
Service is efficient and cheerful. Very good wine list at fair prices. The Dining Room is tastefully decorated and well set out
All in all a fine dining experience at reasonable cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincitveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle House also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Much Birch, Hereford
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing