We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
17
5
0
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
5
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed for one night churchyard pub cereal hairdryer breakfast facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2018

I’m going to have trouble writing this review as there is very little to,say that is positive. Check in is not until 4pm but we did manage to bring that forward by an hour. The room while warm and had a good view over the church yard the bed was a 4 inch rubber mattress on wire wove. Not comfortable but the shower was fantastic. I have to,say the meals were of not a high standard. Breakfast was standard but as the days went by the cereals were not replenished. The evening meals were very poor. No vegetables, poorly cooked chicken curry which didn’t taste of curry. The only vegetable was some lettuce and tomatoe on bergers which we didn’t try. Maybe it’s what the locals like but there was no one else eating which must say something. Sorry but I would not recommend or stay here again.

Room tip: I cannot say
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank venture992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouiseJones394, Public Relations Manager at Boughton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay however: At no point did you mention anything was not to your liking during your stay despite being asked. The mattresses are new Slumberland and top of the range. The check in was the time you requested. There is a choice of 4 or 5 cereals and a gluten, dairy free museali. You agreed a time for breakfast however despite coming down half an hour early you were accomodated without a comment on our part. Our food is cooked from fresh and provided to B&B guests on days our kitchen does not cook for members of the public. In conclusion we would ask that people read other reviews for a balanced view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

This was our first stay “in a pub” Only stayed for one night but a lovely small village pub with lovely hosts. The bedroom was spotless & had everything you need. It was so quiet that we slept with the window open & it was lovely listening to the birds singing at daybreak.
Now the best bit - the food. Not a huge choice but something for everyone. We ate in the night & had breakfast. Proper home cooked food - ‘real’ gorgeous chips by night (not from a freezer bag). Then a home cooked full English - lovely!
Nice relaxing Stay - Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ElisThomasGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Visited for one night for shopping in Hereford, which is about 15 mins drive away. Rang to check snowfall wouldn’t be a problem on the journey and got a warm welcome from Matt and Wendy. Our room was quite small, but had everything we needed - small tv, hairdryer and tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities. The double bed had clean, crisp bed sheets and two pillows each (and a bed cushion). There was central heating, but as it was a cold snap with snow, we also had two oil radiators, which did warm the room up nicely. The bar downstairs had a roaring fire in the brick hearth and had a pool table, two dart boards and a juke box. The adjoining dining room also had an open log fire and our evening meal was delicious! Home cooked food and plenty of choice on the menu (see photo’s). The owners are very conscious of food intolerance issues and have a 5 star rating on display. Breakfast was also good - full English, or whatever you wanted, plus the usual cereal, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Overall a very enjoyable stay. I imagine it would be lovely to visit in the Summer too, as the property is in a beautiful rural location. We would definitely visit again, and would recommend it to others.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Indie22255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Lovely family run pub. All the staff and a lot of the locals were very chatty and very helpful. We had a lovely steak dinner and stayed the night with our dog in the very fresh and clean looking rooms. Pool table, darts, cards are all there and free to use so we had a lovely relaxed evening in the pub with our pooch after a day of exploring Herefordshire.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sasandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend!
We called in to see if they had a gluten free, veggie meal for one person in our group of nine. The owners were more than happy to accomodate us all and even made a special salad platter for us.
All meals were great sizes and enjoyed by all.
I can not speak highly enough of the owners and staff of this place. So kind and friendly, they made us feel right at home. A must visit!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Coastal729177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews