We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Definitely Worth the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Definitely Worth the Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

I love this place. Having not been here for ages and living very close! we decided to book a table for dinner to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday. The restaurant is comfortable, food fantastic and service very attentive - just what one hopes in this sort of place. It's not cheap but that can only be a good thing can't it to ensure the service and quality of food exceeds expectations. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celia1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    77
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
207
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

Wonderful place, rooms, staff, location, town, breakfast....real shame to only stay one night. Far from a budget hotel, but the quality of the offering shone through at every opportunity. Very friendly welcome (for two soggy bikers), fabulous rooms with lovely touches like fruit and a little decanter of sherry, bed linen luxurious, views a delight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

I chose this hotel as it was a similar price to the Premier Inn but included breakfast and had a nice restaurant. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed during my stay, so I didn't get a chance to try it. The room (a single) was as described on the website - small - but well appointed. There was not space for a hospitality tray with tea and coffee, but there was a decanter of sherry, which was welcome. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom. Breakfast was rather slow - all cooked food was prepared to order - but of a very high standard and well worth the wait. The car park is rather small - there is not enough space for one car per room, but I managed to squeeze in on both nights that I stayed. Recommended, but not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hampshire-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

We went on a midweek break with my partner's Father and Mother. The package was three nights B&B plus dinners for two nights in the restaurant at £220 per person. We had adjoining suites (Royal Suite and Nell Gwynne Suite - the latter a little dark) which were spacious and well furnished and equipped, There were many small touches which impressed - the complementary sherry in the room on arrival (and replenished each day), the good choice of teas, hot chocolate, coffee etc in the room, frequent replacement of towels when rooms were made up, car parked for us on arrival and the upbeat and friendly attitude of all the staff. There was a real feeling of pride among the senior staff. The food in the restaurant was of a generally consistent standard and between us we tried almost every item on the menu since we also ate in the restaurant on the third night. We went for house options on wine list which were ok value. The breakfasts were also good (in particular the mushrooms were exceptional with the Full Hereford Breakfast.) The hotel is in a quiet location convenient for river, cathedral and town centre. The first night was very windy and the windows were rattling (both suites). On investigating in the morning I discovered the sash window catches needed replacing and were not locking properly. But that was a small quibble and would not diminish our consensus "excellent "rating. Indeed we have already recommended it to a relative who is in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed here on my wedding night, porter was ready to assist my wife on arrival (despite it being the early hours of the morning!), and the rest of the service received at the hotel was very good. Breakfast (which we had delivered to our room) was very nice.
We booked the suite, and although it was fairly large with a lounge area, two tvs and a four-poster, it was fairly average considering that it cost 225GBP!!
Unfortunately there are no 5 star hotels in Hereford…

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

We spent 3 nights here in August 2010. Unfortunately we were unable to have all 3 nights in the same room and so had to move after our first night but both rooms were beautifully furnished & decorated and very spacious and comfortable.
Our first night was spent in the magnificent Charles II castle suite and was one of the most spacious and elegant rooms we have stayed in anywhere. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. There is a very spacious sitting room with a large flat screen TV,hi fi,fridge with fresh milk, tea & coffee making facilities including ground coffee and a cafetiere, a lovely writing desk, fresh floweres,decanter of sherry,bowl of fresh fruit, bottled water and a most welcome bucket of ice with ice tongs. There is a good choice of elegant and comfortable seating and 3 very large windows. This leads through to a good sized tapestried bedroom with trouser press,slippers,robes,a second TV and a king size bed with lovely crisp linen.The bathroom leads off from here and is a good size and has a shower over the bath. Complimentary toiletries include a little mixed bag of them to take home with you.
This suite is at the front of the hotel which is down a side street and the top of the cathedral can be seen and is less than 5 minutes walk away. It takes up the whole length of the top floor - in the picture of the outside the suite is at the top with the first 3 windows being the sitting room, the next 2 the bedroom and the last window is the bathroom.
Our one and only niggle was that on our arrival there was road resurfacing outside the hotel and we hadn't expected this disruption and noise on a Sunday afternoon - it did make our first few hours there difficult! On the Monday morning we were woken early by the refuse collection but these are our only niggles & not in the control of the hotel
Parking is in a car park a few yards away but can sometimes be a little difficult to find a space.
Oue 2nd and 3rd nights were spent in the William & Mary junior suite also on the top floor [there is a lift] We were a little apprehensive about having to leave the luxury of the Charles II suite to move to a smaller suite but we needn't have worried as although smaller it was every bit as luxurious with all the added extras mentioned above. This suite had dual aspect windows and a nicer view than the Charles II suite so this did make up for our disappointment at having to move to a smaller suite. It looks out over the moat and the gardens of the hotel and we found it a quieter suite in all - apart from the intermittent noise of the ducks on the moat! All in all a very nice & comfortable junior suite.
Breakfast was very nicely cooked and a good choice on offer. Two out of the three evenings we ate in the restaurant [which is soon to be refurbished I understand] and the service was very good indeed. The waiting staff were efficient,polite and very attentive. The food was beautifully cooked, and a selection of canapes are offered while you wait to go into the restaurant to eat. We had chosen to have a pred dinner drink on the terrace overlooking the moat first and the canapes were brought out to us while we looked at the menu.
I would certainly stay here again, though I would say the suites at the back would be quieter generally, but the elegant Charles II suite is a real treat even if it was a little noisier. I would certainly recommend this little gem of a hotel to others too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidmarianSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Bliss would be more apt. The suite was beautiful, from the writing desk adorned with fresh flowers & silver tray with cut glass decanter, glasses & sherry to the supersized bed with crisp white linen. The restaurant food was excellent & the service attentive, but not intrusive & always on hand. A lovely location on a small moat & 3 mins from the cathedral. Excellent in every way. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redf0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing