We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinning at its best.”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Superb meal. Highly recommended. The staff were welcoming and the service was excellent. The restaurant was very nicely laid out. Ie: tables were well spaced out. The lounge was very comfy for pre dinner drinks and they served an excellent pint of local real ale.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 478 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

hi went there to start to celebrate my disabled daughters 18th we had afternoon tea WOW it was lovely best ever we had the ter afternoon tea plenty for 2 people our friend love the afternoon tea too going back in the summer

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gurney43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I have been eating at the Castle House Hotel for many years and every meal has been superb. Today we popped in for a light lunch in the Bistro. We both chose the Burgers a deliciously juicy, home made creation with onions and a tomato relish with a gorgeous collection of leaves and a stack of chunky chips (£10). We followed that with 3 flavours of ice cream for him and the best lemon posset I have ever eaten for me, served with a fennel biscuit that was so good I almost ordered a repeat! With a bottle of white wine the bill was £47 and worth every penny and the service was first class. If you haven't eaten at the Castle House Hotel you are missing out, their female chef who has been with them for 10 years is a kitchen superstar.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bopeep1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked a last minute Sunday Night stay in the Castle Hotel. Lovely setting with Gardens and mini-lake. Welcomed to hotel and shown to a lovely basement suite in the 'Town House' across the street. We had our own Garden and even maanged a picnic.

Drinks and Dinner were great and food/service unbeatable. Menu had modest number of choices but great.

Room Tip: All so different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Everything was perfect. Fillet steak one of the best we've had. Lovely place, rooms, garden, location. Restaurant spacious, couldn't fault the service, ambience spot on - fine dining at its best. Breakfast was first class too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilMargY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter and it was a very enjoyable stay. Quite expensive but for the location, service and food it was worth it. The breakfast was very good but you do have to be specific when ordering - "2 sausages and eggs" or you get 1 but they would rectify that anyhow. Front of house staff were all very polite and helpful and the hotel was very clean with a traditional feel. Also there is some free sherry in the room which is amusing. I would choose to stay here again if I was in Hereford.

Room Tip: The resturant fills up so book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel oozes class and quality. Everything about it was a delight. Four of us stayed in the hotel itself, two other colleagues stayed in an annexe and we all loved our rooms. It's

beautifully done up and if the food in the evenings is as nice as breakfast, I'm definitely coming back. Fantastic local produce wonderfully served. Friendly staff and a good wine list. How this place got two "poor" reviews here beats me - dear God, some people simply shouldn't ever leave home. I'd give it 7 stars if I could because it's the best hotel in the UK I've stayed in for a long time.

Highly recommended for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
291 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: $203 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing