We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle House
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
$64
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel(Hereford)(Great Value!)
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hereford(Hereford)(Great Value!)
$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
The Priory Hotel(Stretton Sugwas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveler rating
358
91
24
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
91
24
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitedecanter of sherryafternoon teabowl of fruitwilliam and maryquiet streettasting menuthe main hotelsconeslovely hotelprivate gardenhuge bedlounge areano air conditioningbeautiful cathedralsingle roomsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 492 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel many times.Every time the experience has always been extremely pleasant.
This unique one of a kind quintessentially English hotel is efficiently run .Staff are always courteous and more than willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and cater to your needs.
We are currently staying in room 7...The Royal Suite.This room has been very recently updated (we stayed in this room about 12 weeks ago)
Has been beautifully done.Room is light and airy...still has old world charm ...with a modern twist.
Great location ... Walking distance to shops in High Town, river walks and Cathedral and more.
This is our "home from Home"

Room Tip: We prefer the main hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stopped here for one night to break up a long South/North journey. This is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Hereford.

We had the Charles II Suite, a very large room on the second floor of the main hotel building. It was made up of a very large lounge area, big bedroom and big bathroom. All spotless, superbly furnished and equipped and incredibly comfortable. Lovely views down toward the Cathedral and towards the river. We had an excellent night of sleep and the bed was very, very comfortable.

The hotel itself isn't big. Is an old, Georgian (?) building and has been decorated in a nice mix of modern and older styles that really blend together. The staff were first class, really welcoming, professional and friendly.

We had dinner in the restaurant. An excellent meal (starters of "Pork" and scallops both full of flavour and presented superbly - main courses of rib eye steak and beef fillet, both excellent and then a panna cotta (my wife thought this the star of the show) and cheese board - a good choice), up there with some of the best we have had we agreed. Great service and a lovely evening.

Hereford itself was a real surprise. We must have been through in many times but never stopped. We always thought it looked a bit boring, bit dull and down at heel. Well, we were very wrong. You don't get to see the heart of the city if you pass through in the car. You miss an excellent shopping area with a great mix of buildings, pubs and shops, a wonderful river and park and a beautiful cathedral. You also miss a town full of friendly, welcoming people. Brilliant place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We just returned from a truly lovely experience at the Castle House Hotel. I have stayed there twice before and this time went with my partner for a romantic get away. We stayed in the Balingham Suite (Garden Suite) which was like having a small apartment just off the garden. It is actually in the adjoining house to the main hotel but you can access the main hotel internally without having to go out into the street.

We stayed two nights and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the Sunday night.......... WOW Claire the head chef is superlative......... such creative, beautifully blended flavours. As a starter we had the Seared Scallops - this dish looked like a piece of artwork and tasted amazing. For main course we tried the the sea raised trout which was exquisite and for desert a heady combination of chocolate brownie, pear, panna cotta and toffee............ for wine we went for the local Broadfield court white wine. - it was so good we went to the vineyard and bought a case while we were away this time !

The staff at the Castle House hotel couldn't have been more attentive, pleasant and efficient. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms here are fantastic. I love the Balingham suite as it is totally quiet, Huge bathroom with walk in shower and bath, along with a lovely sitting area - doors out into the garden. The St Albans suite is gorgeous and is over a quiet street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's unusual to find an old style 'county town' hotel offering good service, excellent food and comfortable rooms with elegance and modern amenities but this does it in spades. My first 5 stars for quite a while but really enjoyed and must congratulate the team there on a job enormously well done.

watty

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night over the weekend while visiting my husbands mother .
A very good hotel near the cathedral and an easy walk into town . We had a suite which was large plenty of room to relax and nice touches including fresh flowers , decanter of port . Bottled water and good quality toiletries in the bathroom . The evening before our stay they e mailed to ask if we needed a table for the evening reserving which we did . The restaurant is small and intimate lovely.
The food is excellent and nicely presented the fillet of Herefordshire beef was truly delicious .
We also had Sunday lunch there which was just as good we had roast beef which they carve at the table . All the staff we encountered were very curtious and had a smile . This was our first stay at the hotel and will stay again on our visit to Hereford .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews