We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really super”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night over the hottest weekend of the year so far - over 30 degrees. A friendly reception on arrival, and a comfortable room. It was quite small but well furnished with quality furnishings, good TV / DVD etc. The bathroom was small but, again, quality fittings. Some nice touches in the room made a lot of difference e.g. Flowers, fruit, sherry and later there was a turn down. Importantly there was also a large fan, no need to request it. As it was so hot, we were able to eat dinner in the garden, and the staff were adept at managing the outside dining and maintaining service standards. The food was very good, and the whole evening was wonderful, and not only because we were able to sit in the lovely waterside setting in the warm until 11 pm. Breakfast - also served outside - was very good, again good service, and fresh quality ingredients. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TheBristolJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

In my opinion this is a really lovely hotel without being too expensive. The room I stayed in was beautifully laid out, spacious with a sofa, armchair, coffee table and desk, along with the norm including huge comfortable bed. The attention to detail was obvious, such as a little jug of milk in the fridge, a bowl of fruit and flowers. It had all I would expect from a luxury hotel, including a turn down service, when the complimentary water was replenished.
The bathroom was large, clean and included nice toiletries.
The restaurant was outstanding, excellent food and service. I had a really lovely dinner after a nice glass of wine down by the river - it was not too much trouble to bring it out. Breakfast was also amazing, with a good choice.
The only negative for me was I found it a little noisy at night - road noise as well as rather loud geese / ducks / gulls - not sure what but very vocal!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A first class hotel in a perfect location moments from the Cathedral, Our room, in the hotel's town house a few doors along the street - was super - huge bed, lovely bathroom. The staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful, efficient. The valet car parking is a huge asset. We were disappointed by our meal in the bar (we had chosen this in preference to having dinner in the restaurant), but a delicious breakfast was compensation. There is lots to do in the area and we certainly would return and warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the hotel's new townhouse just a few doors away. Quite a lot of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquie6London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed pimms overlooking the duck moat. Beautiful garden setting in the centre of old Hereford on a lovely summers day...

Would like to return to try the food sometime, as the menu looked nice.

Didnt stay so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank audreyhepburnesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A difficult review to write as the whole experience was so nearly there. If Trip Advisor was out of 10 it would be a 9. However it was felt our Excellent rating overall was just still correct.
We chose the Castle House through Trip Advisor and found it easily with satnav. The entrance to the car park was not clearly signed however there was plenty of parking near the entrance.
The reception we had was second to none with an extremely helpful receptionist who ensured we were happy in our room and then valet parked the car in the Car Park.
The hotel were happy we left the car in the car park until mid afternoon the next day which was ideal as the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the cathedral and town.
We had a junior suite (12) which was of good proportions with excellent furnishings and décor. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent with a good shower in the bath and all the normal accoutrements.
At that moment we congratulated ourselves on a good choice and glad we upgraded to a suite. However whilst it did not spoil our stay we were disappointed with the fact that two of the net curtains were ripped and the painted wood side of the bath needed attention.
We had booked DB&B and the dinner was excellent. The food was very very good and very well presented. We chose a bin end red wine which was really good and at the right temperature. The décor in the dining room is more on the formal side which for us is ideal. The staff were professional and very pleasant. Certainly up there in our dining experiences.
The room faces the back overlooking the garden and moat with trees on the other side. It was extremely quiet. The bed was turned down and the blinds drawn whilst we had our dinner.
The next morning we went down to breakfast and arrived about half an hour before it finished.
Compared with the excellent dining experience of the previous evening breakfast was a substantial disappointment.
The waiter whilst very well mannered and pleasant appeared dilatory. He had clearly not been well trained and was nowhere near as attentive as he should have been.
Breakfast was in the Dining Room so no concerns as to décor.
However in respect of the buffet section for cereals, juices, fruit, etc. it was no better than an average B&B.
We had a Hereford Breakfast which was only just cooked and the potato undercooked - barely warm. There was the smallest amount of marmalade on the table. We asked for brown toast and got a mixture.
After such an excellent dinner to have such an average experience for breakfast was at best very surprising.
We checked out and gave in our comments sheet which reflected the above.
It was a different receptionist when we left, however every bit as helpful as when we checked in including our pass for the Mappa Mundi at the cathedral.
There is a lot to see in Hereford and nearby and we would certainly strongly consider staying again at the Castle House.
We do though feel that in todays market to be in the boutique sector of the hotel market the management have to be on top of every aspect and not risk having one or too weak areas spoil the overall excellence.

Room Tip: Whilst we were at the back of the main section the street appeared very quiet. Apparently there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mussons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Today has been a glorious summer day and we have been fortunate to have had lunch at this hotel near to Hereford Cathedral.It is not the first time that we have been here and each time we have been well looked after.Today we sat outdoors beside the water watching the ducks arguing.The service was very good and the setting is idyllic with perfectly manicured gardens.We had a barley risotto with smoked haddock and a mild curried sauce(sounds odd but tasted wonderful!)as a starter followed by a breast of free range chicken with red pepers and sauted potatoes, followed by one of the best bread and butter puddings I have ever eaten.2 glasses of the house champagne and a half bottle of sancerre and a meal for 2 £85 which was excellent value

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommend the Castle Hotel. Good sized rooms, nicely furnished, excellent menu with local produce, and in the town.
Have stayed on every occasion I visit Hereford, having lived in Hereford for a number of years before moving abroad, can recommend, as the best hotel in Hereford and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#7 of 11 in Hereford
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: $201 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing