We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - not quite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent - not quite”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

A difficult review to write as the whole experience was so nearly there. If Trip Advisor was out of 10 it would be a 9. However it was felt our Excellent rating overall was just still correct.
We chose the Castle House through Trip Advisor and found it easily with satnav. The entrance to the car park was not clearly signed however there was plenty of parking near the entrance.
The reception we had was second to none with an extremely helpful receptionist who ensured we were happy in our room and then valet parked the car in the Car Park.
The hotel were happy we left the car in the car park until mid afternoon the next day which was ideal as the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the cathedral and town.
We had a junior suite (12) which was of good proportions with excellent furnishings and décor. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent with a good shower in the bath and all the normal accoutrements.
At that moment we congratulated ourselves on a good choice and glad we upgraded to a suite. However whilst it did not spoil our stay we were disappointed with the fact that two of the net curtains were ripped and the painted wood side of the bath needed attention.
We had booked DB&B and the dinner was excellent. The food was very very good and very well presented. We chose a bin end red wine which was really good and at the right temperature. The décor in the dining room is more on the formal side which for us is ideal. The staff were professional and very pleasant. Certainly up there in our dining experiences.
The room faces the back overlooking the garden and moat with trees on the other side. It was extremely quiet. The bed was turned down and the blinds drawn whilst we had our dinner.
The next morning we went down to breakfast and arrived about half an hour before it finished.
Compared with the excellent dining experience of the previous evening breakfast was a substantial disappointment.
The waiter whilst very well mannered and pleasant appeared dilatory. He had clearly not been well trained and was nowhere near as attentive as he should have been.
Breakfast was in the Dining Room so no concerns as to décor.
However in respect of the buffet section for cereals, juices, fruit, etc. it was no better than an average B&B.
We had a Hereford Breakfast which was only just cooked and the potato undercooked - barely warm. There was the smallest amount of marmalade on the table. We asked for brown toast and got a mixture.
After such an excellent dinner to have such an average experience for breakfast was at best very surprising.
We checked out and gave in our comments sheet which reflected the above.
It was a different receptionist when we left, however every bit as helpful as when we checked in including our pass for the Mappa Mundi at the cathedral.
There is a lot to see in Hereford and nearby and we would certainly strongly consider staying again at the Castle House.
We do though feel that in todays market to be in the boutique sector of the hotel market the management have to be on top of every aspect and not risk having one or too weak areas spoil the overall excellence.

Room Tip: Whilst we were at the back of the main section the street appeared very quiet. Apparently there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mussons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    77
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
207
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Today has been a glorious summer day and we have been fortunate to have had lunch at this hotel near to Hereford Cathedral.It is not the first time that we have been here and each time we have been well looked after.Today we sat outdoors beside the water watching the ducks arguing.The service was very good and the setting is idyllic with perfectly manicured gardens.We had a barley risotto with smoked haddock and a mild curried sauce(sounds odd but tasted wonderful!)as a starter followed by a breast of free range chicken with red pepers and sauted potatoes, followed by one of the best bread and butter puddings I have ever eaten.2 glasses of the house champagne and a half bottle of sancerre and a meal for 2 £85 which was excellent value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Highly recommend the Castle Hotel. Good sized rooms, nicely furnished, excellent menu with local produce, and in the town.
Have stayed on every occasion I visit Hereford, having lived in Hereford for a number of years before moving abroad, can recommend, as the best hotel in Hereford and surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stay in around 40-50 hotels per annum and this has to be one of the best I have ever visited (I've stayed before too). The rooms are modern, with top quality furnishings and fittings. The food prepared by the wonderful chef, Claire (I think), is some of the best I've eaten, including the scrambled eggs (and I'm very fussy about my scrambled eggs which should be creamy in my opinion). There is only one downside to this hotel and that is the tiny and unsurfaced car park which always leaves my car in a mess. Still, this is a small price to pay for such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After a 3 hour drive from London, we wearily arrived to our spacious suite to be welcomed by a most comfortable bed fitted with luxury linens. The bedroom area was slightly separated from the ample living area where they had already set up the extra beds with prepared linens for our children. The bathroom had modern amenities with ample high-end shampoos, soaps, etc. Just a point - I think almost all of the rooms / suites are distinct so it is advisable to do some research and contact the hotel prior to booking a room that will meet your needs.

While the breakfast was satisfactory, it didn’t live up to the same standards as the rest of the hotel. The dinner however was outstanding and delicious with top-notch service. It was also a bit on the fancier side. The small bar was well stocked - especially if you like scotch.

The location is as central to the town as possible, a couple minutes walk to the Cathedral, a minute or so more to the restaurants and bars and so forth. You would not need to drive or take a taxi. Despite this prime location, it was peacefully quiet at night, and we did not hear any disturbances. However, one slight noisy element is during the school year, the mornings and afternoons are quite busy in front of the hotel as parents are dropping off and picking up their children at the school next door.

We stayed for nearly a week and during our time there, we received exemplary service from the staff throughout. Some possible improvements for the hotel to really take it to the next level could be an exercise room, an indoor pool or some sort of amenity along those lines.

The service, location, dinner and room make this property the ideal place to stay in Hereford. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went for a romantic meal here in the bistro restaurant with my partner and was impressed with the quality of the food - traditional British ingredients, locally sourced. I had duck legs in a veg stew which was delicious. Friendly staff and a fantastic range of whiskies behind the bar.

Only downside was that we were the only people there which meant that the atmosphere wasn't as good as it could have been.

Would recommend if you're looking for some good quality food in Hereford!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times, really nice rooms, but sheets/bed linen felt so hard could have been in hospital!!!! Plus the seagulls wake you up at an ungodly hour, no good if you want a lie in!!. Not sure if I would try it again,

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 13 in Hereford
752 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
274 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing