We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return guests” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return guests”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 17th to 21st January 2013. It was a return visit after a similar stay in 2012 visiting the Wye Valley Chamber Music Festival. We were remembered. We were well cared for in a friendly way in comfortable surroundings and our catering needs met on request. We were served high quality food with efficiency. Snowed in we were welcomed to add an extra night before our return to the south-east and we were happy to pay a very fair and reasonable bill. We hope to return in 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJM663167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    76
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
202
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Castle House to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday and we all felt as pampered as the birthday girl. With four couples to house, we were kept together but not too close, at Number 25. All four of us felt that our suites were special, each on a different floor of the building. Very comfortable rooms, spacious and well equipped with nice touches in each room. The bathrooms were a great feature.

The staff were great - very friendly and attentive. The meals were excellent and during our stay we enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast. A memorable occasion and a success in every way. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement room of Number 25. This involves a very short walk on the street to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamHwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Once again the Castle House Hotel delivered. First Class food and First Class accommodation.
The staff were very pleasant and obliging. Excellent Hotel in perfect position for visiting Hereford.
We ejoyed our stay here so much that we have re-booked for Next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I live locally to this hotel but booked it to spend some quality child free time as a Christmas surprise for my chap. Even though we were local, not an eyebrow was raised when I checked in. I think the staff quite enjoyed being co-conspirators!
We stayed in a suite with a four poster bed which was very grand and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
We didn't eat in the restaurant that night as the idea was some time alone, but we have eaten there a few times in the past and it has always been exceptional. I like the fact that the produce is sourced locally.
The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and very comfortable.
If I were visiting Hereford then I would definitely recommend this hotel, although quite pricey, the location is ideal as it is central to our beautiful city and you will certainly feel like you have had a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It was the diamond wedding anniversary of my parents and so we came here for a meal. The service was very good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. The menu was not very inspiring and I felt lacked choice. Went for the gnocchi which was ok but the gnocchi seemed as though it had been roasted which was a bit odd.

Others in our group were equally disappointed and my niece was ill throughout the night - no idea if this was connected but no one else ate her starter. I should point out I was a food inspector for a few years and so speak from experience which is why I am not saying the two are definitely connected.

Would I return? Simple answer is no. I expect more for the price - yes it was a nice room and the service attentive but I came to eat and I felt a little let down. Sorry

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank blackcountrymon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived on the 2nd of December for 2 nights, food was ok however I do not class tomato soup as a particularly eye catching starter for such a high rated menu. The staff were very rude and I did not given bread with my starter which I believe was included on the menu!! After dinner, me and my partner were told where our room was and not shown; so after climbing 2floors (lift out of order- and apparently has been for a while) we were awfully tired and wanted to just get into bed and sleep.. not happy!! The bed sheets which I presume were supposed to be white were actually dirty white with clearly visable blood stains on from previous users, we only were given one pillow each and when asking for more downstairs in reception we got told we had to pay extra (disgusting), the room was cold and seemed as though it could do with a little decorating and the bathroom looked like it needed a good scrub.. I would never go back again especially with this being such a 'high rated' hotel it has certainly put me off going to hotels for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Georgia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmarriottlodge, General Manager at Castle House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Georgia L,

I write to inform you that I believe you have posted a review against a wrong hotel.

All of the negative experiences you write about could not have happened at Castle House Hotel Hereford:-

1. Tomato Soup was not featured on the menu, and bread is always served.
2. All guests are offered to be shown to the room, and the lift has never been out of order in all the 10 years I have worked here.
3. Linen would not be put on beds if stains you described existed.
4. Most of our double beds have at 6 pillows, but all have at least 4. Any requests for more would have been happily provided and certainly not charged for.

I request that this listing is removed.

Yours sincerely,

Michelle Marriott-Lodge
General Manager
Castle House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
308 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am fortunate to live in the city that this wonderful hotel is located. My good friend treated me to afternoon tea here and I simply had to share the news how gorgeous it was.
The room was very comfy even though it would have been nicer to have a bit of warmth in it on such a cold afternoon. We were seated next to French doors which were a bit draughty and we felt the cold after a couple of hours of sipping tea and chatting.
The Earl Grey tea was absolutely delicious and so were the sandwiches and cakes. The scones did taste home made but not sure that the jam was home made though.
The service was excellent and it was great to see a silver tea pot which kept the tea hot for an extremely good length of time.I would certainly be overjoyed to have afternoon tea here again.
The afternoon was a superb treat in such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisas_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing