We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle House
Nearby Hotels
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$77
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)(Great Value!)
$88
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory Hotel(Stretton Sugwas)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hereford Grafton(Grafton)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel(Hereford)(Great Value!)
$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hereford(Hereford)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
362
93
24
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
93
24
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitedecanter of sherryafternoon teabowl of fruitwilliam and maryquiet streettasting menuthe main hotelsconeslovely hotelprivate gardenhuge bedlounge areano air conditioningbeautiful cathedralsingle roomsunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 498 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

we really enjoyed the slight eccentricities of this hotel. as each room is different, it would be nice to see all roooms!... we stayed in the main hotel and was overlooking the lake, which was perfect for us, as we love nature. lots of birds and ducks to see !
there was sherry in room which is a nice touch too.
the breakfast in the room was a yummy treat and recommended.
only down side was the female receptionists were very miserable. doesnt really matter i guess, but we are overly friendly which on this occasion landed on deaf ears....

would recommend hotel though

Room Tip: the carpark is muddy when raining...do not wear your jimmy choos when you arrive !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samanthamarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the third if not fourth time I have stayed at the Castle Housein the last two years, but the first time I have posted a review - partly because I had a problem getting a room here in the past and I didn't want to make it more difficult for myself!!
This is a really good small hotel. The staff are pleasant and friendly - without being intrusive. The food - in the restaurant and less formal bistro - has been consistently tasty and beautifully presented. The cooked breakfast is also really nicely presented. (It might be nice to have more of a mix of fresh fruit available at breakfast though - bowl of mixed fresh berries to go with the Llaeth y Llan yoghurt).
I suppose the rooms are now slightly old-fashioned in decor (but in keeping with the building), but the beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The only gripe I've had each time is that the chairs by the small desks aren't particularly comfortable for working on the laptop - but free wi-fi is a bonus I appreciate.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites, in my opinion, are better value than the ordinary doubles.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay over a recent weekend. This was our first visit to Hereford and the central location is a major benefit, the city is compact and very walkable.
On Friday evening we were surprised to hear musicians setting up for a dance festival on the Castle Green which is just behind the hotel. Not sure why Hereford allowed what appeared to be a nice quiet public park be taken over by a dance festival, but the music did stop shortly after 11pm. The event ended at 1am and the noise disturbed our sleep. As we had expressed concern about the festival, the management reduced our bill when we checked out resulting in 2 very happy customers & top marks for customer service.
The staff were friendly, waiters and waitresses in the restaurant especially so.
The food was of a high standard and our meal on Friday evening one of the best we have had for a long while. Perhaps best described as a modern interpretation of traditional British food using quality local produce (eg excellent Hereford beef).
As a family owned and run "boutique hotel", the room rates cannot be compared with chain hotels. During busy periods rooms will of course be more expensive - if available at all. We stayed in a Junior Suite in the main building and it lived up to our high expectations (you can view each room on their Web site). Some room for improvement of course - there always is - but we can recommend this hotel and its restaurant and head chef.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Just spent a very enjoyable night in the Castle House. Stayed in one of the Junior Suites which was very luxurious, private sitting area, cosy bed with beautiful linen and great attention to detail throughout. Dinner was delicious and the staff very accommodating and polite. This has to be the best hotel in Hereford or, indeed, surrounding areas, and if I was any other local hotelier, I would be very afraid!!!! Every aspect of our stay was of the highest standard. Thank you.

Room Tip: If available, choose a room overlooking the garden, even better, ground floor with private access.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattiehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

£130 a night on a corporate rate and my room is TINY! Tiny double bed pressed ino a cornet and a wardrobe, that's it. No ironing board or iron in room which is annoying. Room looks dated ( brown throw on tiny bed) dissapointed

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R6demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews