We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest and reflect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hereford Cathedral

Hereford Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 51 things to do in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rest and reflect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just a short hop via Cappuchin Lane (side of M and S) from the city- centre of Hereford and you find the historic Hereford Cathedral. It is surrounded by an oasis of lawns where you can sit and reflect on a warm summers day before venturing inside.If you are religious there is an instant rapport. If you are musical you will really appreciate the magnificent tones of the organ and if you are interested in history then The Mappa Mundi is a must...quite incredible, as are the Chained Books and other antique manuscripts.
After all that ..to the coffee shop, with their delicious cakes (Lemon Drizzle...MMH!)What better way to while away an hour or two?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    347
    43
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Another cathedral in another town, but with an added attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We are travelling 3 months around the UK and have been in some stunning cathedrals, and this one is stunning again in a different way to all the others. Interested that Pugul designed the windows, as he has designed churches in Oatlands Tasmania. Entry is free, the organ sounds magnificent, the setting around the cathedral is quite beautiful, and the cafe seemed very popular. But for us the Mappa Mundi and Chained Books was so incredible, and something that we had never heard about.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krisherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
672 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Mmmmm so its a Cathedral”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Im not religious at all but do value good architecture and some of the worlds best can be seen at religious buildings. If in Hereford check it out but to me it was just an average cathedral.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The wow visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

To see the Chained books the Mappa Mundi the new shopping centre looks so nice and the level from the multi storey car park through wide marsh street to the Cathedral and its going to get better

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank julietHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Wonderful cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We love visiting cathedrals on our trips round UK. Hereford certainly didn't disappoint us. It has many interesting facets and any queries we had were answered by the very helpful staff. There is a good mixture of old and new. Many parts date from 13th century and the principal alter is surmounted by an amazing silver gilt corona made in 1992..The cloister garden was a lovely tranquil place to sit and enjoy the spring sunshine.
Some people say they have felt pressurised into giving donations. We were only too happy to donate to keep this wonderful piece of our heritage open- it costs about £4000 /day to do so.
Naturally we visited the Mappa Mundi and chain library exhibitions.-I have written a separate review on these.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hereford Cathedral also viewed

 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Hereford Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing