We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange, dirty, poor breakfast and a spider haven!”
Review of Hopbine House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopbine House
Ranked #34 of 36 Hereford B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Strange, dirty, poor breakfast and a spider haven!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I travelled down to visit my partner who works in Hereford.
I will start with the only plus point- lovely, bright decor in the bathroom. However, upon arrival there was nobody there to greet us; we had to find our own room, of which the key was in the door. There was a strange brown mark on the toilet seat and bits in the bath, which I wiped out. There were countless spiders from small ones on the bed to large ones on the room door and ceiling amongst the beams. We were never greeted until the second evening. We missed breakfast as we didn't know the small window of an hour for breakfast (probably due to the lack of welcome). We were out most of the day and our bed wasn't made or the two tea bags replenished. The tea wasn't an issue as the 'smart price' tea bags were disgusting. The cups were stained with a feint brown stain, forcing us to buy some new cups. The dark blue carpet looked grubby and added to the dark and disheveled room. The bedding was old and the wi-fi didn't work.
Overall the spiders were the greatest issue and the ground floor rooms prevented us from leaving the double doors open in hot weather. We didn't feel welcome and the breakfast was appalling. Cheap sausages and a pot of the smart price tea. I know the signs of a good B&B as my parents own one in the North West. This is far from suitable and my partner and I discussed that the lady is now out of touch, or perhaps too busy dusting her countless ornaments.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleyyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
10
20
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed only for one night after attending the races.
Our room, Room 6 had a very comfy four poster, new decor and jacuzzi bath.

This is the best value for money B&B I have stayed in and breakfast of perfectly poached eggs was spot on.

I have no idea on the other rooms but this one was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wonky_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nobody there on our arrival, we rang the number stuck to the door and were given an entry code for the door, we were told which room we were in and that the keys were 'in the door'. We were in room 1 which has one double bed and one single bed, a good size room, somebody needs to vacuum in the corners... There was nobody else staying in the hotel and it was a Saturday night. There's no bar. After a long trip was looking forward to a hot bath but before the bath was 3/4 full the water ran out completely, after a few minutes went to a trickle. We were the only ones there so what would the water pressure have been with more guests? Breakfast was included and acceptable for the price we paid and the landlady was helpful (loaning us an iron) and friendly. Lots of uneccesary clutter with ornaments, very confused hotel and a bit strange. Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackpearl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairycaz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had a wedding at Munstone house and this was in the perfect location! (we walked back and it took 10 mins ish). It is a quirky place, part of it built in 1807, surrounded by Orchards and there are A LOT of statues, ornamental and otherwise, but perfect for what we wanted. It is not a contemporary boutique place, it is what it is and perfect for what we needed. We had room 11 which was really large, patio doors to a little patio with table and chairs, ok sized bathroom and good bed. Breakfast was plenty, poss different sausages if I was being picky. The owner was really nice and overall it was a great stay, we would use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 11 is great and they only take cash for the rooms, no cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the hopbine for two nights in early October. We were in room 12 which was lovely and spacious. Overall the room was good, just some of the decorating needed tidying up a bit. There was quite a lot of noise from the road so if you are a light sleeper I would suggest getting a room at the back. Breakfast was good, no real complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura_c_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have stayed at the Hopbine many times before but never got round to reviewing it.
The Hopbine is in a great location being out of town and has a large safe car park which is great when you have an above average size vehicle.
Doreen runs the hotel and should she not be about on arrival is only a phone call away, quite often she gives me a choice of rooms which for the most part are large with Tv/Dvd and en-suite bathroom, some of the other reviews say the rooms are tired and need a makeover, like any older building improvements are always ongoing, after all its only a place to sleep who hangs round in hotel rooms when there are some great places to eat locally and in the town centre.
I do not have breakfast personally as I leave early and cannot face food at that time of morning but I know there is a good range of Cereals on offer followed by the standard English breakfast or any variation of it you require.
Wi Fi is accessible in many of the rooms but if you are out of range (due to the thick walls) there is plenty of room in the entrance hall to sit.

Room Tip: Not all have showers or Wi Fi so ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boristhespider007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend, as is needed pretty much every month due to work commitments. Decorated to the proprietors taste, which is quite old fashioned, but cute. Room was nice, comfy bed, room wasn't too small, decent tv with dvd player and freeview. We didn't have breakfast, so couldn't comment on that! The lady is lovely and the nicest proprietor that we've come across in Hereford so far. The only downside was that there was no shower and carpet on the floor in the bathroom, but this is a preference thing. The bath filled up quickly, plenty of hot water - couldn't really fault it. We only paid £50 a night, which is the cheapest rate we've come across so far, that was direct from the B&B. Plenty of parking too, with quite large grounds which are open for guests to use. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and thought it was value for money, taking into consideration the average price of B&B's and hotels in Hereford.

Room Tip: If you want a shower, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NandC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
782 reviews
1.1 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#12 of 12 in Hereford
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southbank House
Southbank House
#6 of 36 in Hereford
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Bay Horse Inn
Bay Horse Inn
#13 of 36 in Hereford
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopbine House

Property: Hopbine House
Address: Roman Road, Hereford HR1 1LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hopbine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing