We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two out of ten at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Counties Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“two out of ten at best”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My stay at the hotel was a very short one.I had intended to stay four nights but stayed just the one.During my stay I experienced poor service,horrible food and a below average room,the room was clean but the bed must have been well used.on my arrival I found the hotel to be almost empty which was worrying as it was a weekend.
If anyone is considering a stay I would say shop around as I am told that there are a lot of good hotels in the area at much cheaper prices.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    125
    71
    21
    11
See reviews for
37
95
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Driving into the grounds, the first impression is very favourable. The grounds are well maintained and, entering the hotel, the atmosphere is pleasant. However, there was no-one on reception and we had to wait 10 minutes for someone to appear to check us in. Going out later, we wanted to leave our key (as instructed) but, again, there was no-one on the reception desk to take this which was probably just as well, as there was still no-one on reception when we returned later that evening! Otherwise, the room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel in recent years.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

MOdern hotel about one mile from centre in spacious grounds. Rooms are well equipped and very clean. Choice for breakfast is excellent and reasonably priced. This is a hotel for groups and conferences however and the evening meal reflects this approach. No one would normally choose hotel restaurant in preference to some of the best restaurants in the outlying villages. Reseptionists very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldruinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eythorne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Last weekend we went to a wedding near Hereford. We booked the Three Counties hotel in Hereford for two nights and it was lovely. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was also most helpful.The twin bedded room on the ground floor was ideal. It was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless!! We had an evening meal there and it was very tasty, good service, with good wine. We shall defeinitely go there again if in the area. By the way, the breakfast was all you could want for.

Room Tip: I heard the rooms in the main hotel are the best but did not see the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Used as a base while working away from home for 4 nights. Room was spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Located near to the city and right next door to a large tesco supermarket. Quiet at night. Noting to complain about at all. Large tv in the room with freeview. Wifi in main building. Didn't have dinner due to working hours but the breakfast was first rate. Only tiny gripe is they have blankets and a bed spread. Duvet is the norm these days. I would book there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had a very bad experience at the TCH.The food is poorly prepared very limited menu.I had to send a dinner back as it was not hot/cooked.
Rooms have been freshly painted but beds are not good,noise can be noticed from next room.
I have stayed in much cheaper hotels in Hereford that were a lot better,however this was the only place available at last minute and now I understand why.There were not many people eating here and that is always a worry in a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

stayed for two nights. comfortable room, in pleasant surroundings. helpful and pleasant staff. We walked into Hereford city centre which was about one mile away, a lovely pedestrianized small city with park set on the river wye.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.2 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
783 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Counties Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Counties Hotel

Property: Three Counties Hotel
Address: Belmont Road, Hereford HR2 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Counties Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent 60 bedroom hotel with emphasis on friendly, personal service. The hotel is set in 3.5 Acres of landscaped gardens and lots of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Counties Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Counties
Three Counties Hotel Hereford
Three Counties Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing