We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I had the misfortune to have to stay one night here with a group of Americans. It was one of the hottest nights of this year so one of the biggest problems was hot public rooms and bedrooms. Although the hotel had assured me that they did have fans, upon arrival it transpired that they had all been given out. Nor were they any fans available in local stores! As this wasn't the start of the heatwave, I would have thought the hotel could have found some more fans by this time. I am sure there is a legal maximum temperature applied to hotels and I am also sure that dogs in kennels would not have had to endure such heat! The bedroom windows had been fixed so that they only opened a couple of inches and the heat was so unbearable that one lady decided to spent the night sitting nr the front door of the hotel. The dining room had one large fan which did not nearly supply enough air for the 100 or so diners. My bedroom, on the lst floor executive level, was large but only had one window which overlooked the kitchens. The 'new' carpet did not fit the room, the furniture was stained and there were only 3 bulbs out of 6 working in the chandelier. Small plastic bottles of shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom were half full. Yes, floors were very creaky! The food was the usual mass- produced for tourists - unimaginative and poor. No salad despite the heat; in fact there was roast meat as one option.
Staff were not in uniform and the one 'porter' available for a coachload of luggage on arrival, was in tatty jeans. The lift does not operate above the 3rd floor. The hotel know nothing about Hereford Cathedral opening times, yet it is 2 minutes from their door and in the morning there was no Receptionist or Manager available before 09.00. One lady who left her vital insulin supply in the care of the kitchen for refrigeration was told that it couldn't be found the next morning (it later turned up) and all in all this is a joke of a hotel. A disgraceful example and a blot on the history of English coaching inns. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here at any price and I think the Health & Safety Dept need to inspect quickly.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank Janter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 827 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Hemmel Hempstead
11
Reviewed July 4, 2006

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockport
12
Reviewed June 26, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Watford, UK
14
Reviewed May 22, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sausageshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2006

Thank Debbie23g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham West Midlands
11
Reviewed April 8, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#6 of 11 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
334 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hereford
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: $83 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing