We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Green Dragon Hotel”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have just had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Yes the bedrooms need some refurbishment such as new carpets and chairs in the bedrooms but the overall appearance is lovely. The restaurant is lovely and the breakfast is help yourself offering a full array of English food. The staff are very friendly and the bar at night was great. Great locality for the City centre. The only disappointment was the car park. Too small for the size of Hotel. We ended up paying £8 for the car park next door so that we could get in and out during the day. Don't go next door to the Thai restaurant for a meal. We were ripped off by the price on the menu for a set meal for 2. Food was good but not worth the £54 we were charged. The beer in the pubs were great. Never tasted good beer anywhere else. The Imperial Pub is a must. Great food and beer. Would defo come here again but would ask for front location as back view is poor. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 827 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very rundown. Shower didn't work holes in the bed sheets nearly all the carpets throughout the hotel are badly worn. Even the towels were grubby looking. My wife went into town and bought her own towels. complained to the reception there were no management on site until the monday. The experience was very unpleasant. Please AVOID ITS DREADFULL.

Room Tip: find somewhere else to stay don't ruin your stay in hereford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBakerFamiliy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very friendly, helpful staff, good food and excellent value for money. Very comfortable, quiet lounge area where it was refreshing to be able to relax without blaring music. Will most certainly use hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandybw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at the Green Dragon Hereford , and we had a great time.
The hotel is slap bang in the centre of Town and you wont do better on location , yes the hotel is tired but not shabby , and the staff there were all pleasant and helpful , i would say that they all work hard as they are certainly understaffed .

Our room was overlooking the town and was a good size and was comfertable and for the price we had paid it was very good value , the room was clean and offered everything we needed for a weekend away , the Breakfast was good , but on Sunday morning when the restaurant was quite full (overheard a waitress tell someone there was 155 for b'fast) and the re was only one waitress checking people in , and 1 waiter running around bringing toast to the tables although we did not receive ours that day !!

we had supper in the John Spice's restaurant on arrival Friday evening and had the roast carvery which was quite good , and later that evening in the bar we asked the barman if he knew of any local cobblers and he got his phone out and showed us the location of Timpsons in town what a fantastic attitude and this is an assett for the owners in all the staff we had dealings with......well done!

If we were to visit Hereford again we would not hesitate to stay here again mainly because of the location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I read other trip advisor reviews about this hotel before I went so I was not surprised at the standard of this hotel. Contrary to comments about unhelpful staff we did not have this experience, they were pleasant at all times. The hotel itself is very tired, and is in need of a complete update. Whilst the bedroom was only adequate, the bathroom was grubby and certainly needed to be ripped out and updated. There is a small hotel car park but this was always full so we had to use a public car park and were lucky to find a space. I would not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have stayed at the GD about 10 years ago and had forgotten how dreadful it is. Nothing appears to have changed in the last 10 years and the hotel can't have had any serious renovation work in the last 50 years.

The bedrooms are musty and cold with an un-watchable A3 sized television which is useful since you'll probably have your head under the covers to stay warm. My bathroom had a stained carpet and the cold and hot taps were on the wrong way round, I had a cold shave before I worked that one out. Turning on the bath taps released a liquid the colour of oxtail soup (which legionella bacillus would be at home in) took a few minutes to clear, the shower was more of a hose pipe, very rustic. When I got in from work my room had been left open,by the cleaner I presume. Fortunately my laptop and other belongings were safe.

Breakfast is buffet style (which I hate) congealed scrambled eggs moulded into the shape of the warming dish, soggy bacon with the rashers stuck together; yum yum.

On the plus side, the bar is friendly and there is a comfortable downstairs sitting room and I was only there for two nights.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

At one point it looked like the hotel had been up market----however this had obviously been 20 years ago as it was shabby and unloved with frayed carpets and torn curtains
The room was reasonable but unfortunately the heating was turned off in the evening and it became very cold and one blanket was not adequate!!!!
The service was good,the staff were friendly and the price was cheap however and the location within one hundred yards of the cathedral was excellent
Anyone looking for a top class hotel would be disappointed however for a good value couple of days it is ok
One final point tho-----avoid the restaurant it is the worst hotel food we have ever eaten! Reminded us of school dinners and was indianish????buffet style and left out for hours!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as it has a good view of the street and cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#6 of 11 in Hereford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
334 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: $81 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing