We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my second week here though work and at £39 a night for bed breakfast and evening meal you can't go wrong. Every thing is ok in the hotel yes it does need a touch up. Plenty of pub's and eateries nere by, I the middle of Hereford so lots to see and do.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamond-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 812 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

My work colleques paid for a room as a gift for my wedding night. What a complete waste of £95. Arrived at 3am to the porter being stood outside having a cigarette. He checked us in, didnt show us to our room just left us to our own devices. The room itself was adequate. We had a four poster room. The view from the window was a flat roof and nothing else. Breakfast the following morning, well where shall i start. Buffet stylecereals toast amd drinks. I was shown to a seat and again left to it. No explanation of where everything was no explanation of how to order a cooked breakfast, i watched the other diners for clues. After leaving the dining room there was no interaction from the staff as to wether i enjoyed my meal. Upon checking out the staff had a lacksidaisal approach. No thank you no hope u enjoyed ur stay nothing. As they knew the room was booked for a bride and groom there was no extra little bits as most hotels provide. Im glad i didnt pay the money out of my own pocket. An email complaint was made but i never ever had a reply. I wouldnt recommend the green dragon to anyone. Once upon a time it was the best hotel in hereford, i would rather stay at the trav lodge down the road

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandrlewis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Arrived here for one night only, having stayed here a few years ago we were reluctant too but no other hotels were available. We upgrade to a Four poster bedroom, as the standard rooms are awful.
The room 127, was ok at best, clean and comfortable, although the bedside lamp had virtually fallen apart! and the window ledge was rotten. The bathroom was clean with the usual towels and complimentary shampoo and soaps.
The bar downstairs in the evening was being manned by a staff member who was looking after 2 bars so you have to be patient.
The staff whenever we encountered them were always polite especially the gentleman who checked us in and the morning cleaning lady who was always cheery and smiling.
Breakfast was either a hot meal (eggs,bacon,sausage,tomatoes,mushsrooms and beans) with tea/coffee or a cold breakfast (cereal,fruits etc)
The hotel is a 1minute walk from town centre and the cathedral. if you stay in the rooms overlooking the main street (Broad St) the pub opposite on weekends is loud, we were off the main street and we could still hear it early hours of the morning.
We arrived into Hereford by train, the hotel is a 20min walk approx.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a executive/double 4 poster bedroom for better quality room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed on a first break in June, I was not at all impressed with the state of the room we were given & asked for the manager to visit whereupon i pointed out the caked in dust on the furniture &skirtings,the carpet not properly vacuumed,lights not working...all basic housekeeping errors. We were given a free upgrade to a very pleasant room. The meal at night i couldn't fault but at the buffet style breakfast there wasn't enough staff & they were running out of the hot food & then there was a long wait before the stocks were replenished.
We had already bought the 2nd deal & went in July, this time no complaints with the room & breakfast ran like clockwork. For what it cost i wasn't expecting the Ritz , BUT , i do expect clean.

Room Tip: Don't request a room on the front if staying a Thurs/Fri or Sat as can be rowdy on the main stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It's in a nice location close to the cathedral but oh my word does it need updating. The rooms look like they haven't been refurbished since the 1960s and there were old sweets and wrappers under the beds.

The restaurant wasn't too bad as things go.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

From the outside at the front of the building it looks very nice, but my room for £69 was dirty, dusty and in very poor condition. Paper coming off the ceiling, sugar on the floor so not been vacuumed, covers on the chairs dirty, lampshades and bulbs dusty and filthy. The breakfast was poor only having three tinned fruits available, no nuts, muesli or cooked meats. The cooked breakfast was good though but no offer of toast until I asked. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NE10PEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We re-booked The Green Dragon having had a relatively pleasant stay here last year. Then it was obviously a grand hotel that had seen better times. Sadly it seems to have gone downhill rapidly since then, with I suspect nothing spent on upkeep. A thoroughly miserable welcome from the man on reception did not bode well although I have to say that the ladies usually on the desk were lovely.
We were giving a room in the extremities of the building with a tortuous route to find it and a very small window that was too high to see out of. Things that we have come to expect in hotels now like reasonable toiletries were absent.
The buffet dinner was not the quality it was last year and although showing on the inclusive menu, I was charged extra for a prawn cocktail.
Hereford of course was as beautiful as ever and we will return, but not to stay at The Green Dragon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#7 of 11 in Hereford
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hereford
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: $79 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing