We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - we'll definitely be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay - we'll definitely be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

After a nightmare journey (when satnav took us away from the centre of Hereford!) we arrived at the hotel just after 6 o'clock on Friday evening! We had bought a Groupon deal and thought we'd miss out on the included cream tea but the staff were brilliant and it was no problem. We also had a lovely meal in the dining room where my husband (who is Indian) stuffed himself with the all you can eat Indian buffet! Breakfast was lovely too and once again we ate heartily...
Our room was lovely and warm and very clean with lovely clean, fresh white bed linen. No view but we weren't bothered.
The shower was too low on the wall for us really but I wouldn't make a complaint about this as I put it down to a short plumber!!

We want to return to Hereford in the near future and will hopefully be able to stay once again at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millsbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    244
    218
    125
    95
See reviews for
90
312
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travel a lot and had seen some of the reviews beforehand - some people only look for the negative and miss the positive.. The only thing I found to agree with was that yes some of the rooms may need a refresh and the carpet in our room was threadbare, but overall we felt that we had great value for money for the two nights we stayed and we would definitely go back again if in that area again. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and we thought the location just down the road from the cathedral and close to the shops might have presented some noise during the night, but we heard not a thing.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street have a better outlook than the ones that face into couryard. But if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights (Jan 2013) for the second time
It's got a great central location and nice friendly efficient staff. It's tariff is very low (maybe too low for it's own good?)and there's a car park at the back of hotel, central areas are lovely and quaint and have a nice atmosphere.
The not so good points are that the rooms are dated with squeaky floorboards. Some rooms have mini (and I mean mini) televisions (nice lady switched us to a room with a bigger tv)
We also lost hot water during second day which was a bit of nuisance as we had to get ready for something(although it was restored by the evening). The rooms were a bit cold as the radiators were not working but again the staff got us blankets and a portable radiator
So all in all great value, centrally located with friendly staff but as the previous reviewer said - it needs a bit of money spending

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelvinp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hereford hotels

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

WELL! What can I say! Hotel needs A LOT of investment,don't see why it is still open! Staff were as helpful as they could be, I suppose. Purchased a Groupon for the one night. I assumed it wasn't going to be great, but it was awful! A DEPRESSING HOLE! My husband suddenly become really miserable when he saw the room . The poor design on the bathroom, the toilet seat that had one hinge, the sink built in a recess with two walls on either side of it, the bath that was difficult to get in and out because of the shower door was difficult to open and climb into the bath. It was a high bath side, no good for older people. Hairs on the vinyl floor and on the tiles around the bath! No tops to the on and off placements of the taps. Bathroom radiator did not work. Bedroom- small double bed, one old fashioned blanket, one bed cover, clean pillows and sheets. VERY POOR lighting, two bulbs only in ceiling light and even poorer lighting from each wall light. TINY TV that I have ever seen! 1980's telephone! Dirty and worn carpet.NOISIEST FLOORBOARDS I have ever heard!! Tea and coffee facilities were adequate. WHAT made us angry was there was NO HEAT coming from the radiators! I guessed that there would be no heating when I saw the room! Hubbie phoned reception and said there was no heat, receptionist said that the radiators did not work and would send out a maintenance person. We saw the receptionist an hour later with tools in her hand! I again guessed there would be no maintenance person, it was her. M husband went to the reception to say we were off to the theatre and that on our return we would expect a warm room. My husband asked for us to be contacted via mobile phone for the hotel to tell us if they had sorted out the heat issue. Of course, no phone call! When we arrived back , a small electric radiator had been put in the room together with one extra blanket and one extra bedspread. What a suprise, not! This is the hotel with NO HEATING in the winter!! Nice noise of drunks outside too, well it was Saturday night I suppose!
The afternoon tea, was two small scones with jam and loads of cream. We had to wait half hour to be served and the tea was served in a coffee pot. The scones and tea were nice.
ALL IN ALL, It WAS LIKE ROUGHING IT! DON'T BOTHER!

Room Tip: There isn't a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Starlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Has a couple of hours to kill before a train and went here with family for the lunchtime buffet.
Have to say it was very good and excellent value at £8.95/head (excluding drinks, with decent draught ale on tap, plus other alcoholic and soft drinks. Hotel has seen better days but this dining room is large, attractive, oak-panelled. It was empty when we went but i guess could get noisy. The buffet included english, chinese and indian food with a generous array of sliced fresh fruit (pineapple, melon, mango, orange etc.) and ice cream (4 flavours). I stuck to mainly curry with the added bonus of having it in a yorkshire pud from the carvery selection! seriously, try it - delicious! There was lamb curry, mushroom curry, chicken curry, vegetable curry, 2 types of rice, sides such as bhaji. I suppose in all each section included about 8-10 dishes. They were actually quite authentic and far better than you might expect from a serve-yourself as much as you an eat buffet. Service (for drinks, chips etc.) was attentive and polite. I expected mediocre, what i got was really rather good, specially for the money. Didn't seem to be a great deal in Hereford but this was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingernut1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Green Dragon for one night on 29th December 2012.
Had the room under a deal at £39 which included cream teas on arrival, a bottle of wine if you dined in the restaurant and breakfast.
Upon arrival the reception was bright, clean and we booked in without any fuss or delay.
Receptionist was pleasant and guided us to the lift to take us to the 2nd floor, I was amazed by the lift car which must have been the original from when the hotel was built, retro as oppose to shabby.
Walking to our room through the maze of corridors (this is a large hotel) I noticed all sorts of features retained by the hotel such as the room services bells (real bells) oak panelling, stair banisters, etc.
Our room was large, with a lounge area (including 37" flat screen TV) large bathroom and double bedroom again with small flat screen TV.
The room was dated but the decor was reasonable and clean.
The only complaint with the room was speaking floorboards which would have been even more annoying if you were below our room.
After unpacking we when’d down for cream tea (available from 2.30pm) in the Garrick room. This was excellent with warm scones and what must have been 1/2 lb of clotted cream, a large pot of tea with hot water to top up.
The Garrick room is a lovely lounge area with large chesterfields and high decorative ceilings.
We chose to eat in the restaurant that evening which was international buffet style for £9.95. Large selection of starters, mains and sweets, including Indian, Chinese and traditional.
The food was not the best but I would use the place again if visiting Hereford, service was good and we did get our bottle of 7% wine.
Breakfast was again buffet style and very good with the food warm and coffee good.
All in all the Green Dragon was a great experience and I will be returning.
Try the Racecourse pub around the corner, the Queens head across the road is a bit rough but nobody bothered us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for one night in family room but noticed that for an additional cost decided to upgrade to suite. The difference was great from warmth to the cosy bedding. However, the one tv didn't work and the one in the bedroom only had certain channels. Staff was extremely helpful and let daughter have room next door, which was just as nice. I would say that the first room was not really family friendly and in al the bedrooms the bath taps were very slow. This hotel in the main areas comes across as old fashioned in a good way but some of the rooms I feel lack something, they are too bland. I would recommend this hotel to couples and families but if you could afford it, would recommend paying that little extra for a better room. Would certain re-visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PantoBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#13 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Property: The Green Dragon
Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing