We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roller-coaster experience”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Kings Lynn
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“roller-coaster experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Another KGB customer I'm afraid but did add on another night making 3 in total. The hotel used to be Forte owned I believe and it is best described as being in gentle decline but with nontheless many uplifting features and positives for the future. (A gradual refurbishment is taking place, but the pace needs to be speeded up although understandably difficult at this time and expensive.) The reception staff to a person were knowledgeable, friendly and helpful and I found the car parking at least adequate and thanks for it being free! The food quality at breakfast and on the evening buffet was average but the guys looking after us in the evening were superb. However the breakfast "service" was really disappointing as regards the individual concerned who arguably lacked any empathy with the dining customers. It is a competitive marketplace out there you know and lots of capable people looking for a foothold in the industry. Finally the bedroom was a very nice size indeed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can be affected by a clattering of bin collections if you need to have your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent12089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    250
    226
    127
    99
See reviews for
91
321
45
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed over two nights at a weekend. Impressive facade on a main road belies the tired interior. Car parking, free, is at the rear of the building controlled by a barrier. Get the code for the day from reception. It's obvious that this was once a prestigious hotel but it's glory days are long gone. Our room was perfectly clean but the carpet was worn and the dark stained furniture looked old. Bed was comfortable and the TV and wifi, which was free, well done Green Dragon, worked very well. Shower and lavatory very clean.
Reception staff affable and helpful.
Dining room is impressive with dark wood panelling and plaster decorated ceiling. However, the food is on a buffet style help yourself basis. As much as you can eat and therefore good value but uninspiring. Breakfast was good, buffet style again. Staff here were very hard working and helpful to those who needed assistance.
Some carpets looked relatively new but there were holes in some of the others. The guest lounge was comfortable but had a very dated look. All in all ok for a weekend but the old place needs some sprucing up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Booked on KGB deal, so went with an open mind. Eventually parked the car in a very small car park at the rear of the building. The gent who checked us in was very pleasant, and even let us change room when we didn't like the first one. Nice and big with a double and single bed, and a large bathroom. Bedding, reminded me of mu Uni days, a sheet, blanket and throw, all clean. Guys, please buy some duvets. The bathroom shower attachment did not work, and when we ran the water it came out a strange yellow colour. Iron, ironing board and tea/coffee facilities well topped up. Breakfast, was edible, but you had to ask for fried eggs, the lady serving seem to find this a pain. As mentioned on previous reviews the tea and coffee in a flask is not a good idea as the water was Luke warm. The Hotel is old but in a great location, the owners need to spend some money on updating the rooms, and looking at every detail of service. Overall, acceptable but this place could be fantastic due to its excellent location.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Indysanghera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a girl growing up in Hereford this hotel was perceived to be the Bees Knees. Coming back many decades later, the facade is nearly as good as ever and the young man in reception was very pleasant and helpful. The lounge is really quite lovely. The stair carpet needs to be renewed, our bedroom floor was very creeky, but that is to be expected in an old building. The room was clean but the bedding was poor, a dreadful old blanket and no duvet. There was a hair dryer, ironing board and trouser press. At breakfast all the little signs, that were there the night before at dinner, saying things like curry, beef stew, vegetables and all the things that were available for dinner were still there when they should have been taken away. The woman in charge of the breakfast made no effort to be pleasant. Surely more attention to detail should have been made.

Room Tip: not the room we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked for a 2 night stay here with a friend on a KGB deal.
When I called to make the booking Claire the receptionist was friendly and professional (she sent a confirmation email and answered my question about car parking - which they have for free just across the street from the back entrance of the hotel).
The Green Dragon has that faded elegance of a bygone age and the potential of it would be greatly enhanced if only the owner (who I understand has no hotel experience) would actually take note of these reviews and make the refurbishments which this hotel is oh so badly needs. The lift was not working which for elderly clients could be difficult but the more worrying is the carpets especially on the stairs where it has become threadbare in places. This could become a serios Health and Safety issue if someone was to catch their heel and fall down the stairs. General Manager/Owner do you really want to be taken to court and fined heavily?
The other staff that I found "difficult" is Jenny in the Garrick Lounge - apparently she has been there for 17 years and it shows...she tries her best but really I think that its time to retire and the lady who is in charge of Breakfast appears to be very rude...does not make eye contact so that you are unsure as to whether your request actually has been acknowledged (I was told that she has been there for 37 years!)...It is definatly time to change the staff in these areas ....
The problem with a buffet breakfast that runs from 7.00 - 10.00am during the week is that there will be foods which will become inedible if not checked regulalry....Also to have only one themos of hot water in order to make your tea and coffee does not work since the hot water runs out very quickly and is not replenished....surely pots of tea can be make up quickly and efficiently and jugs of milk put on the table? When I said that the hot water had run out I was in fact given a pot of tea!
It is the quantities of food that is presented at breakfast that must make the profit margin very small...surely the chefs have a good idea as to how many people are stayng in the hotel that will take breakfast and make the quantites that are enough since it appeared that an awful lot is wasted...However, I requested poached eggs both mornings and they were wonderful!
We had a twin room on the 2nd floor at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet...it had a flat screen tv, plenty of tea, coffee, milk and sugar and the beds were comfy...the bathroom was clean and big with both a bath with a shower over and the towels were clean and large.
The location of the Green Dragon cannot be faulted since it is near to the main shopping areas in Hereford. It is in a nice safe area so perfectly safe at night.
The Green Dragon Hotel is the oldest one in the city and if with careful renovation and money spent on it could really become the Grand Old Lady it once was..it has so much potential that its almost criminal that it is being so negleted.

Room Tip: We had room 203 which although up on the 2nd floor is at the back of the hotel so nice and quiet alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shazza24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Rusty hot water in the tub, light bulb out and clerk says there is no one available to fix anything at 2 in the afternoon. Furniture and carpets threadbare. Blanket had burn holes (from prior smoker apparently). Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s22k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hereford hotels

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The night before our visit we almost cancelled our booking when we read the many negative reviews of this hotel. However, when we arrived we discovered a very characterful hotel indeed. All the staff we encountered, from the reception to the restaurant, the cleaners and the breakfast staff, were very helpful and could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. The room (301) exceeded expectations, with a sitting area, a bedroom area, a comfortable bed with crisp white sheets and no less than two large televisions! The evening buffet offered a splendid choice of several different curries and their accompaniments and there were English, Italian and Chinese dishes also. The puddings included chocolate pud and custard, and ice cream with smarties, as well as fruit. The waiter was attentive and brought our drinks to our table. The breakfast was equally capacious, and very generous, with all the usual English breakfast items. There is a very comfortable lounge with enormous sofas where we were served our after-dinner coffees. The building is full of character with lots of period architectural features to appreciate; OK there are one or two areas which need a bit of attention but if you want modern squeaky-clean and characterless stay in the Travelodge! . It is incredibly convenient for the cathedral and the city centre, and you felt in touch with Hereford's great cultural history (Three Choirs Festival etc). They even looked after our luggage for us during the day until we were ready to go to the station in the afternoon. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was restfully quiet because not on the front - perhaps rooms on the front could be noisy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew499515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
805 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#12 of 12 in Hereford
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Property: The Green Dragon
Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing