We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once nice but down-at-heel now.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Once nice but down-at-heel now.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Rusty hot water in the tub, light bulb out and clerk says there is no one available to fix anything at 2 in the afternoon. Furniture and carpets threadbare. Blanket had burn holes (from prior smoker apparently). Couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s22k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    240
    214
    124
    94
See reviews for
89
306
43
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The night before our visit we almost cancelled our booking when we read the many negative reviews of this hotel. However, when we arrived we discovered a very characterful hotel indeed. All the staff we encountered, from the reception to the restaurant, the cleaners and the breakfast staff, were very helpful and could not do enough to make sure we had everything we needed. The room (301) exceeded expectations, with a sitting area, a bedroom area, a comfortable bed with crisp white sheets and no less than two large televisions! The evening buffet offered a splendid choice of several different curries and their accompaniments and there were English, Italian and Chinese dishes also. The puddings included chocolate pud and custard, and ice cream with smarties, as well as fruit. The waiter was attentive and brought our drinks to our table. The breakfast was equally capacious, and very generous, with all the usual English breakfast items. There is a very comfortable lounge with enormous sofas where we were served our after-dinner coffees. The building is full of character with lots of period architectural features to appreciate; OK there are one or two areas which need a bit of attention but if you want modern squeaky-clean and characterless stay in the Travelodge! . It is incredibly convenient for the cathedral and the city centre, and you felt in touch with Hereford's great cultural history (Three Choirs Festival etc). They even looked after our luggage for us during the day until we were ready to go to the station in the afternoon. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was restfully quiet because not on the front - perhaps rooms on the front could be noisy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew499515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Green Dragon on Groupon deal and were more than satisfied. The building is gorgeous, look out for the old call bells all lined up on the 1st stairway and the telephone booths near the garage doorway. We loved the dining room and beautiful old doors. The service and facilities however are bang up to date. The wifi access was perfect, rooms clean, well presented and comfortable. All the staff we met were efficient, polite and keen to please. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and despite it being very busy, we didn't have to ask for fresh toast, it just appeared on our table. Situated in the centre of old Hereford, opposite the famous cathedral, any shops you may need are a short walk away. Places to visit are the Cathedral with the Mapa Mundi exhibition and chained library, The Old - timber framed - House in the centre try to take a walk along the river, the Castle Green and old lanes. Further afield is the Bridge Inn near Leominster, humungous, home cooked delicious meals, if you fancy a change of scenery from the Dragon for lunch, try the Flying Monkey, near the garage entrance - delicious soup and buttery rock cakes. Car parking is a little tight, but we never had a problem parking our large hatchback, and considering the hotel is in the town centre, having a secure, private car park is really helpful. All in all, a great base for exploring the area, building is just a breath away from the luxurious splendour of its prime - would definitely go back.

Room Tip: 246 overlooks the main street, sunny room, great for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyjoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Been to this place several times. Rooms excellent. Staff very friendly, check in was very quick. Just a short walk from the shops and bars if interested in going out. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved everything about this hotel.
Stayed on a Groupon deal, which made it amazing value for money. The location is just perfect, it's right in the town centre. The amazing cathedral is a 2 minute walk to the right of the hotel and the high street is a 2 minute walk to the left of the hotel. The Green Dragon is one of the oldest hotels in Hereford and is full of charm and atmosphere, one cannot help letting your imagination take you back to a time when only the gentry would have stayed in such a grand hotel. It even has the old fashioned telephone booths in reception that I have only seen in films, although they are no longer in use.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the hotel is spotlessly clean. Our room wasn't massive, but certainly big enough and comfortable. The tv was quite small by today's standards, but then you don't go away to watch tv in my opinion. The towels were white and fluffy and there were plenty of toiletries The beds were made up with blankets, which all looked clean with very bright white sheets.
The breakfast is buffet style, and was constantly being topped up and was all nicely prepared.
There is a car park at the rear of the hotel, which is without charge and very convenient. When visiting the hotel for the first time use the following post code to get to the car park at the rear of the hotel HR4 0BU. I will most certainly stay at the Green Dragon again, loved the hotel and really loved Hereford.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night while on business in Hereford. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. They made a booking for us to eat in the restaurant at 1900hrs, but when we went in at 1915hrs there wasn't a table, we were told they would have one available shortly and would come and get us from the bar, 10minutes later they told us the table was ready but we were in conversation with some other colleagues, we were told they would keep the table for us, we went in 15minutes later to be told we would have to wait for a table, we eventually got one after about 5minutes. We were then challenged as to weather we were with the coach party as we were sat at one of their tables (the fact that we were all well under 50 should have told him we weren't.) The waiter came over and sorted it out for us.

The food is all you can eat buffet, what I had was nice but looked very much like a dogs dinner (presentation is not their strong point) but generally it tasted good. The roast potatoes could have been roasted for longer to make them crispy, the roast beef I could have soled my shoes with. There is a very good choice and something for everyone. The choice of desserts was very good and I had to sample most of them, including 2 out of the 4 ice creams with smarties, jelly tots, marshmallows and strawberry sauce on top. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, didn't appear to be any other choice of how eggs were cooked, baked beans, mushrooms, fried bread, cereals, fresh fruit etc. By the time the toast arrived it was stone cold and tea/coffee is out of urns and the water wasn't hot enough for tea. I will say all the food I had was piping hot.

The room, I found the bed comfortable and clean but it is firm, the pillow was like cement and I slept without it, but I generally do, as I like a really low one. The bedding was made up of blankets and sheets with a throw over the top. In this day and age I would expect a duvet. The carpet was threadbare and this seems to be the same throughout the hotel. The bathroom was clean, small and really needs updating, the shower I had worked fine but my other colleagues were not so lucky and one even reported the shower head hanging off. Although the shower was over a bath I couldn't see how you could have one as the water had to go through the shower head and it would take an age to fill. I had a room on the front of the hotel and did not find it noisy even though there is no secondary double glazing (I'm a light sleeper.) The rest of the furniture tied in with the fact that the hotel is old and they are trying to give it an olde worlde feel.

Would I stay here again, if it was for business I would have no choice, as it is the company preferred hotel in Hereford. I would not stay here for leisure and could not recommend it to friends or family.

This could be a fantastic hotel if some time and money was spent on it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmoth, Hants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just a short visit, 2 nights, with friends on a special deal which turned out to be fantastic.
First & foremost...cannot fault the Green Dragon in any respect. Arrival dealt with quiet, efficiency. Rooms excellent, comfortable..newly refurbished by the look of them and spacious
Wife loved the large bath. Good car parking available.
Cuisine...Dinner spot-on £11.95 less 15% for oap's 3 course and help yourself to as much as you like...includes..English roast, Indian, Chinese...excellent. Breakfast...good ..help yourself
with nice staff.
Evening entertainment...Last night live country singer... we showed 'em how to line dance...great nite. Tonight quiz..not so good but with the other guests could be another fun night.
Location...location...location...perfect out of hotel turn left is the shopping centre.
I have walking problems so got a scooter from the Shopmobility people 10 mins away...great.
We did the whole town + riverside walks etc so easy to get around this lovely town and the people are so nice....well done Hereford and well done The Green Dragon
Hi everyone I'm Rod Hall and am happy to recommend The Green Dragon, Hereford
For more info contact me on Rodneyahall@btinternet.com...I will be happy to help

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod1Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#13 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Property: The Green Dragon
Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing