We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
95
282
263
137
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
282
263
137
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviews broad street faded grandeur large lounge traditional hotel old fashioned buffet breakfast all you can eat trouser press free car park twin room city centre plenty of hot water visit hereford cathedral garrick character bells
Filter
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 893 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I spent spent the early years of my life living in Hereford and always admired the grand look and reputation of the Green Dragon, without having the finances to enter. This weekend my wife and I attended a function in the town and stayed at the Green Dragon on the Saturday night.
The public areas were really as we expected but we were very disappointed with the upstairs corridors and rooms, in particular the creaking floorboards. In an old building you do expect some floor noise but this level was unacceptable, particulary when someone in the room above returned at 0300 and proceeded to do what appeared to be a test of every plank of wood in the room.
The bed was also one that was designed in such a way that ensured that everyone on it eventually ended up in the middle of the mattress!
I strongly agree with those that recommended a major overhaul.
The service, the staff and the breakfast were very good. Hotel car park was full on checking in so NCP had to be used with no discount for staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We also stayed on a 2-night internet deal. Having read some very mixed reviews we were not sure what to expect but are not fans of corporate chain hotels so this place had some appeal for us. It is a big hotel and,yes, some of the carpets are a bit worn, but overall it has an impression of being very clean and well looked-after. Our room on the 2nd floor was clearly newly plastered, repainted and spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The 3 course buffet meal had a good choice, considering the price (only £11.95 for non-residents!) - curries, a vegetarian dish and a roast. Food was freshly - cooked and regularly replaced / topped up. Service throughout this meal ( drinks, clearing plates etc) was very friendly. Furnishings in the restaurant are smart and clean. The lounge area with sofas where lunches / teas / coffees are served during the day is a very cosy, comfortable room. We had a light lunch there and were served by a lovely lady. The downside? Saturday night attracts noisy drinkers at the pub opposite. The music ended at midnight, but our room was facing the street and sleep that night was disturbed many times by people shouting across the street at each other. Not that many individuals involved, but enough to annoy. A great shame for the management of the Green Dragon who seem to be making a real effort with their establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hil_hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here in July on a Wowcher deal.Hotel is in a great location right in the centre of Hereford.Car park at rear is very useful but only space for about 15 or so cars and is on a first come first served basis.We were on third floor in room 107,which was quite large and clean.Bathroom had been renovated although the shower lacked any real power,but was adequate.The dining room appeared to have been refurnished and dinner was reasonable for £11.95.Staff at dinner were very good and helpful,unfortunately the breakfast staff were less so.Overall a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 107 on third floor was quite good,view not brilliant,but quiet.There is a small lift to third floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Good, stayed last weekend on a groupon deal Hotel is looking very tired inside, however rooms were clean and well equipped iron trouser press etc vituals etc. Thou impressive from the outside rooms are comfortable in need of massive reverb. Hotel ideally located for bars restaurants and Cathederal. The Bad. There is a round the world buffet style restaurant which serves food till 10pm...however get there after 9 30 there is very little choice. Food standard was poor and choice worse. Advice sit will before 9 30 if you bother at all. That said staff service was OK
The ugly....parking space is at a premium the hotel does have its own carpark adjacent which was full for the duration of our stay...causing NCP parking charges
Overall....cheap and cheerful hotel ...suggest avoid the restaurant. I would not consider staying again unless its heavilly discounted on a groupon deal etc

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room overlooks the cathederal
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DICKOS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed last weekend on a Wowcher deal. Hotel is in a great location in centre of Hereford. I noticed from the bin in the room that the hotel used to be part of Forte Hotels.
The room, on the first floor - needed updating - tiles cracked in the bathroom. No notice in the bathroom warning the hot water was really hot - I'm glad I checked first as was travelling just with my 5 year old daughter. Carpets are very dark in the corridors - wall paper peeling off there as well. Restaurant - needs more light in it - very dark wood; at breakfast - noone had wiped up from the night before where the fruit juices were; evening meal - ran out of ice cream sauces - not a happy 5 year old... Lounge - really nice - but too many sofas in it and too many tables. Someone needs to put a lot of money into the hotel and it would be a great place to stay not only for tourists but also business travellers. I'm a business travel agent and I wouldn't recommend the hotel at all to my clients. Staff in the restaurant were nice but their appearance was on the whole very slapdash. As I have coeliac's disease (can't eat wheat or gluten) i'd emailed reservations at the hotels about 3 weeks before arrival, when I asked for gluten free toast - the first waiter didn't know what I meant and the second waiter had to pop out to the local Tesco's to get some gluten free bread for me.

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor as these rooms as being refurbished.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JW2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews