We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint traditional dog friendly pub,which happens to serve a delicious Sunday lunch too.”
Review of Moon Inn

Moon Inn
Ranked #16 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
hereford
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Quaint traditional dog friendly pub,which happens to serve a delicious Sunday lunch too.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't visited the Moon Inn for many years,but as it was recommended by friends we decided to pop by and see if we could grab a spot of lunch accompanied by our small friendly dog.
I was aware of the oldie Worldie ambience,having been inside previously but personally I think that is part of the charm of the pub.
Karen the owner recognised me as soon as we sat down because we were work colleagues years ago,and warmly welcomed us to her pub and immediately offered us beverages and brought them over.
The Sunday traditional roast lunch was delivered speedily by Emily the sweet waitress,and condiments offered. We both agreed that it was all totally delicious and hot in temperature. The dessert menu was lovely too,so how could anyone resist sticky toffee pudding with custard? This visit will definitely not be the last,the owners extremely friendly and welcoming.It looks as though many more agree because the car park busy.We ate in the bar due to having our dog with us,but my cousin&his fiancee strolled through from the restaurant as we ate and commented their roast lunch was utterly superb too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paradisas_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    53
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Real Pub”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very friendly pub Have played quoits/darts here and mine host always gives us lovely supper
Have also eaten in restaurant very tasty and filling

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank C S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family and I had lunch at the Moon last Sunday. The menu was very limited a choice of three roast meats and a nut roast (imaginative they are not). The food was cold when it arrived, and i'm sure had all been in the freezer an hour or two before. The vegetables served were disgusting and highlighted the incompetence of the person cooking- sweetcorn and peas for a Sunday lunch? Whilst the service was not bad, it was certainly not welcoming or friendly either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank L C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Lunch and Good Beer”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stumbled upon this Inn whilst walking from Lucksall Camp site. Had a raodt dinner lunch at a very attractive price. The staff were excellent and the beer (Otter) was fantastic. The place is not the most up to date place but why should it be? Dog friendly too

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We found the owners to be both welcoming and friendly. The Menu was excellent and after ordering the food was no dissapointment. It was fresh and hot and very tasty. I could not fault the establishment in any way. A cute little dining room which made you feel as if you had stepped back in time. I hadnt been in The Moon in over 30 years but will certainly be coming back again. 5 Stars to the owners for running such an excellent Pub.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Inn also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing