We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive explore- Herefordshire”

Ranked #55 of 154 things to do in Herefordshire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 40-mile circular trail starts (and ends) in Leominster and passes by buildings going back to Domesday.
Southern England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Drive explore- Herefordshire”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A driving route around a number of villages off beaten track and each different. Only did a part but found lovely teashops and pubs. Best to plan your route before venturing out. Take a camera. Don't just drive stop wander chat, sup tea and ale.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travell_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
460 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“worth a tour”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This trail us very worthwhile what a plesant way to spend sometime. Pembridge is lovely with its 13th century bell tower at the church. Some nice places to each throughout thus trail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Salmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Blak & White country”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As a party of 4 retired people, we spent 2 days in the Herefordshire countryside going around the 'Black & White' villages. As all the villages are very close to each other, you can make your break as long or as short as you want.If you have the time, I would suggest that you do give it 2 days as there are a few villages to see, & if like us you get very hot weather,an excursion into some of the lovely pubs in the area is a must. We found all the local people very friendly & willing to give us plenty of information.The 2 best villages we thought were Pembridge & Eardisland which are only about 5 miles apart. There are many B&B places in the area, so accomodation is no problem. It is an area which we shall certainly visit again, & would recommend it to anybody interested in history or our heritage.
Glyn Williams

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must see if in the area”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This trail is a beautiful drive around the Herefordshire countryside looking at the black and white houses that have been preserved. You can get a brochure from the tourist information office in Leominster or from your hotel. By far the best village in my opinion was Pembridge, this was absolutely fantastic. There are many things to look at and see on your way round and also many places to visit such as cheese factorys and cider makers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent Easter Sunday doing the Black and White Village Trail, we had planned to have Easter Lunch half way round and then continue after we had eaten. The first place we went to was Pembridge which had a beautiful scenery, next to the church there is a bell tower which you can walk a round which is quite amazing and a lovely little gallery called The Old Chapel Gallery. As we drove through the rest of the villages my Dad and my Brother-In-Law were discussing the technicalites of it all while my Mum, Sister and myself were all just amazed by the beauty of it all. As it was Easter Sunday we didnt stop in many other places because everything was shut. But it is well worth a drive! I would suggest you go to a local tourist information point and pick up the map in the leaflet as this gives all the information about the places and how to get there, you can also either download the car audio or get a cd that talks you through it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Megan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black and White Village Trail also viewed

 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Bringsty, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Black and White Village Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing