We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round pub”

The Bishop on the Bridge
Ranked #39 of 204 Restaurants in Winchester
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Perfectly placed to explore beautiful Winchester, The Bishop on the Bridge is elegantly situated on the bank of the River Itchen. Try a craft beer from a seat in our garden and enjoy our freshly prepared seasonal food while dining al fresco in the sunshine.
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent all round pub”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great pub, lovely beer garden, the staff and managers are very friendly and more than willing to help. Fantastic place for a relaxing meal with friends and family

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    199
    75
    29
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My new favourite pub in Winchester.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice bar meal and was treated very well by some very polite staff members. We ordered a kids meal for our little one who was very well catered for. Loojs to be a good selection of beers and ales. This pub attracts people of all generations. Will look forard to seeing some of the live music they are advertising.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Waited too long for very average/poor food. Would go here again for a drink but not food. Salmon was dry and lacked seasoning. Chips over cooked. Salad was dull. :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahmwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - poor food!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We sat outside by the river which was delightful. However, the food was very poor and the service was flippant verging on rude... when a waitress was asked by ourselves if she could clear and wipe down the table we were about to sit at she replied "that's not my job" - well perhaps find another job because the service industry is not for you!!

We will not return which is a shame because the location is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor seating area but slightly disappointing food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I visited with a friend on Sunday for lunch and managed to get a table outside, which had nice views of the river. Whilst the chicken roast dinner I had was tasty it appeared that the chicken had been cooked earlier and then re-heated, although not very well in my case as some parts of the chicken leg were warm, some were luke warm and some were cold. None of the chicken was hot, although the potatoes were to be fair. The yorkshire pudding had also been cooked to within an inch of its life and was crispy to say the least.
It was busy there so it's obviously a popular venue, but having read other reviews it appears my experience with the food wasn't a one off, which is a shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 21Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bishop on the Bridge also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Bishop on the Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing