We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Winchester
Post
Inbox
Search

“Last minute booking”

Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #81 of 225 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $21 - $78
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Bistro at the Hotel du Vin in Winchester is exactly where the whole stylish, witty, wine-loving hotel group began 25 years ago. Centrally located in one of Winchesters most important Georgian buildings, dating from 1715. The Bistro offers seasonal menus rooted in classic French cuisine from head chef Stuart Law. Recently refurbished with muted colours on the period panelling, stripped wooden floors, upholstered chairs, and origional fireplaces. The wine list is, of course, extensive and eclectic, with many available by the glass, and pre dinner cocktails can be enjoyed in the bar, so you may wish to stay the night in one of the 24 individually-decorated rooms.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very much last minute I booked a table for 3 last Thursday and pretty much from the moment I arrived the evening went well.
I did think previously that the HdV really needed to up their game in view of the Ivy coming to Winchester but last week they were back to their best.
Dida, the sommelier was excellent with us and chose a number of excellent and very suitable wines for our meal and brought a sense fun and real enjoyment to the meal.
The rest of the staff who looked after us were wonderful and overal, between the food, wine, atomsphere and company it was a special and quite un-expectedly excellent evening.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareR1050, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr Ian T

Thank you very much for your time to write your review.
I will pass your feedback to Dida & our team. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and I hope I will see you in the future to come and dine in many occasions.

Best regards
Thomas S
Deputy General Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 688 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

First time to the Hotel and we were impressed.
Good ambience, good food and service in restaurant. The bar scene was good although the service in the bar was slow and we had to wait long time for our drinks to be served.
Other than that, the food, the choices and the complete ambience was all good, so would most likely return again.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank chrismranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

Another lovely meal with friends at this delightful restaurant. Varied menu, extremely good food and excellent attentive service from all the staff. The fruits de mar risotto and the tartiflette were both fab. We will be back!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank LouBhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2019

I went for lunch and ordered the set menu which was great value for money.
The risotto was delicious as well as the plum crumble.
The staff was very attentive and accommodating at all times.
The atmosphere was really nice, other customers around were having the afternoon tea and everything looked well-presented and lovely. I’ll definitely come back and try it for myself!!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monicpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareR1050, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2019

Dear Monicpf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent lunch with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your meal and the service the team provided. I look forward to passing on your lovely comments to the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Have a lovely Christmas.

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019 via mobile

Spent a very comfortable night here in one if the garden rooms. Tasteful appointment and a dream-inducing bed. Dinner in the restaurant was more than acceptable though my companion found the seafood risotto much too soupy in consistency, and the scallop starter was meagre.
Breakfast, however, was majestic.
I would certainly consider a return.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank fatherstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareR1050, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have gone through you feedback with Chef, and hope that we see you again soon at HDV Winchester.

Best Wishes

Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel du Vin & Bistro also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing