We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good without being exceptional”

Hotel du Vin - Winchester
Ranked #89 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $45 - $64
Cuisines: European, British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bistro at the Hotel du Vin in Winchester is exactly where the whole stylish, witty, wine-loving hotel group began, in one of the town’s most important Georgian buildings, dating from 1715. The Bistro offers a menu rooted in classic European cuisine with a contemporary edge augmented with daily additions from head chef Matt Sussex. The Hotel du Vin’s famous funky-chic décor is in evidence here with wooden tables and chairs, open fireplace, period paneling, and collections of wine bottles everywhere. The wine list is, of course, extensive and eclectic, with many available by the glass. Enjoying the intimate ambience? Stay the night in one of the 24 individually-decorated rooms.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good without being exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely ambience, professional staff, good choice of dishes, well presented food, great wine list but still not quite worth an excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theoriginalchoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    120
    91
    89
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive, but food was good and great wine list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We ate dinner in the restaurant, the candles and low lights created a nice atmosphere. Food was good (although limited vegetarian options, which wasn't great), service was also good.

The restaurant is actually in 3 parts - upstairs, a side-ish room and then more tables and a bar down a few steps. For smokers (or those who want to dine outdoors) there is a small tented area with candles and a heater outside, which is a nice touch.

The wine list was good, we were able to order a few varieties that we seldom see in other restaurants. Service was also very good.

I wouldn't say this is the cheapest place (as it isn't), but it is nice for a night out.

We also had a pushchair with us, the hotel staff were great in finding a convenient table. Luckily the ambience was chilled enough so that the baby didn't get disturbed too much... although I probably wouldn't recommend this for small families as I'm sure the children may get bored (I found it to be more of a couples or small group type of restaurant).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sad decline in standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have been coming to this place for lunch for about 12 years & have always enjoyed the food & relaxed informal ambience but the last 2 visits have been very disappointing. They don't seem to have a set price lunch menu on offer now & we ended up paying £115 for a very mediocre lunch.
I had the rack of lamb(£22.50) which was literally 3 lamb chops, a handful of watercress & 2 halves of tomato, not good value at all!
The staff that served us didn't have much knowledge of the menu or wine list & seemed disinterested.
All in all a very disappointing lunch & won't be going back. Shame because it used to be so good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dissappointing wine bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had pre-dinner drinks in here with a group of friends, but I think they didn't like us talking too loudly at the bar, so we got ushered to the 'drawing room'. This room is awful - dark, no atmosphere, and really out of the way. We sat in here for one drink - Mojito was good, but the Cosmopolitan very strong and didn't taste as it should. Service was very slow. What a shame, because I have been to really good Hotel du Vin's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank familym123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“just dropped in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

we were looking for dinner at approx 6pm and to be served fairly quickly before going to the theatre, and that was what we got - along with delightful food , atmosphere and service. We didn't know that the restaurant is now open earlier in the evening than it's previous practice, but for us it was a boon, and we'll repeat our experience if possible, with attentive staff and a menu we appreciated ( dressed crab and then bream)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel du Vin - Winchester also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Hotel du Vin - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing