We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LIGHT LUNCH”

Loch Fyne - Winchester
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
OR
Order Online
Ranked #37 of 235 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loch Fyne's Winchester restaurant is housed in a charming, half-timbered Elizabethan house with an open courtyard for summer eating. One gets a dedicated waiter who, in our case, was very friendly and helpful. My wife had the scallops starter made up to a mains. TIP: Use the disabled toilet on the ground floor otherwise it's a trek upstairs. Small step up into the restaurant. Only 4 stars as we thought the meal slightly expensive although beautifully cooked.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DRW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochfynerww, Manager at Loch Fyne - Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review!
We are glad you enjoyed your Lunch here with us at The Loch! We must agree our building is beautiful and dates backs to 1509!
Thank you for your kind words in regards to your server, we will pass them on to the team.
Over all we are glad you enjoyed your meals and time here with us, so thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although previously informed that the fish and chips would be served with fries as they had run out of chips, we were very disappointed by the quality of these fries, the cooking and presentation were poor and definitely not worth the £15.25 we paid for the 3 portions we had.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Nicola for your review.
As per our email conversation, we apologise again that you feel disappointed. We are however glad you enjoyed your Beetroot and Ricotta Tortellini! We apologise in regards to the chips situation and stress that we are unable to buy from outside our suppliers due to allergens. Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience here with us at The Loch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went there tonight and the food was spectacular. The specials started of Haggis poached egg with curry cream mash and mango chutney was the best thing I’ve eaten this year. The mains were beautifully presented, tasted great too. And pud was gorgeous too. The staff were exceptional, fun, friendly and the right amount of attentive. Really excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JohnCogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lochfynerww, Manager at Loch Fyne - Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you John for your 5* review!
We are glad you enjoyed your meal here with us. The Haggis Scotch Egg is delightful and we are excited for it to launch on the Autumn/ Winter Menu.
We look forward to your return with your wife, for another great meal. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Price: too high for standard
Food: poorly delivered
Service: lovely staff and good service although did forget drinks and two sides.

Lovely menu, however all meals were not up to scratch especially for the price. The bread was stale and the squid to start was cold and tough. The steak was burnt on one side and barely cooked on the other.

Many restaurants such as the hotel du vin around the corner offer their food at the same price with a much nicer atmosphere and quality of food.

If the price was lower I would kind of expect to receive this standard but for what it was, it wasn’t worth eating out for.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank tom94958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Tom for your review.
We are sorry we've not been able to meet your expectations on this occasion, but please do give us a try again as this is not our usual standard.
We will pass on your kind comments to the staff but again apologise on behalf of all staff for your time here with us. We will speak with the Kitchen team in regards to your comments based on your meal. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this venue for our anniversary meal and it didn't disappoint, the food was delicious and the staff were very welcoming!we'll be back !

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Voyage67532809748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Loch Fyne - Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5* review!
We are glad you enjoyed your anniversary meal here with us all at The Loch. Please do come back for more celebrations or even just a cheeky meal. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Winchester also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing