We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and good service”

Loch Fyne - Winchester
Ranked #23 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $81
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall very good, and you don't have to have fish! The steak is good. Often they have good offers online - check their website and the usual coupon sites.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HB562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    336
    149
    92
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An Early Dinner for Two ?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were planning a night out in Winchester, a lovely old city of great character and charm, and had booked a table at Loch Fyne. Upon arrival, we were shown to a good-sized table, offered menus and drinks, and really looked after rather nicely by the very pleasant staff.

So far so good.

We went over the excellent menu carefully, and actually found it hard to chose ! Our order was taken, wine arrived promptly, followed by starters (hot and utterly delicious) and our evening out was off to a flying start.

Mains were not too far behind (did they know what we had in mind, or were they just used to the early evening pre-theatre rush I mused ??) and were great. A fantastic meal enjoyed by both of us, with superb service.

There was a big -ish party in justacross the room from us making a bit of a racket, but being a Saturday night we just accepted that as par for the course.

Great food, great service, loved it. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winchester_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited loch fyne with my mother & newborn baby for lunch, we both opted for the lunch set menu, it was great value. Great range of choice for all courses and the food was outstanding. We had the haddock chowder & the crab cakes to start and both were absoluteley delicious, then we both had the salmon salad with pumpkin seeds, butternut squash and pear for mains with a side order of their fantastic twice cooked chips, the whole meal was beautifully prepared and presented in a first class manner, the service was brilliant too, very friendly, chatty & helpful. We will certainly be returning very soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annioes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very good dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked a table online which was trouble free and easy to do. On arrival we were expected and treated to a walkround explanation of the Restaurant, its menu and the different combinations of fish and seafood that could be put together and choice of cooking. It was all very polite and set the evening off very well.

We were impressed with the attention of the Staff and not pressured to order in any sort of timescale so considering it was our anniversary it suited us well. When we did decide what to order we were offered further combinations and ended up with some pretty good choices.

The food was very good and nicely presented, the wine was fine and available by the glass.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves and as it was a special occasion, indulged ourselves so it wasn't a cheap night out. Having said that there were some very reasonably priced dishes.

Certainly a place to recommend, good food, lovely staff and a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 64av8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely Supper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

There is just something so romantic about this restaurant in the centre of Winchester. The food is always beautifully prepared and the staff so friendly. I was amazed how imaginative the kitchen staff have become with their variations on preparing a nice fish dish. Strange as it may seem I opted for the prawn curry. Now to some that might seem strange, especially when one might be expected to order oysters or something more familiar in such an establishment like this. But, no, the curry was my choice and how wonderful it was. Even the rice was lovely. My friend opted for the Ray Wing and all washed down with a refreshing bottle of Rose. Yes, a lovely supper. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyoncat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne - Winchester also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne - Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing