We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the pub, food's ok, hate the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Wykeham Arms

Wykeham Arms
Ranked #25 of 200 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Steeped in charm and nominated Hampshire dining pub of the year, The Wykeham Arms is moments from the glorious Winchester Cathedral. A modern British menu filled with locally sourced ingredients, is complemented by an extensive wine list and choice of 5 ales on tap. A cosy log fire in the main dining area enhances the relaxed atmosphere of The Wykeham Arms.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love the pub, food's ok, hate the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is one of my favourite pubs for ambience. Over the last couple of years it's had a bit of a kicking for its food and service. And living in Winchester, I drink in their occasionally as the ambiance is unbeatable and eat rarely. Last night we tried it again and the summary is:

1. Food. The menu is ok. The challenge is it's way too try hard. If you get the basics right, it's totally cool to try and go flash. But the basics are NOT done correctly. My partner ordered steak medium well done as she is pregnant. It came medium rare. When it came back, it was still medium rare. It's either incompetent or arrogance from a chef that demands their food be cooked a certain way. The portion sizes are stupid. The deserts were ridiculous. Could do so much better.

2. The service is shocking is amateur. It's slow from both a waiting and serving perspective. We sat down for dinner at 8:30 and didn't get the first course for 50 minutes. Yes, 50 minutes. There are big problems that need to be sorted from a kitchen and waiting perspective.

This could be one of the best pubs in the country. Sadly it's merely pedestrian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwaystruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    213
    87
    64
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unusual but good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Visited prior to Valentines to miss the mad rush and it was very good indeed. Tasty, hot and very well presented. If I had one chriticism it would be that although the presentation is amazing, maybe a little more attention to seasoning and balance would raise the quality level to a sure 5.
The service was excellent and we found the waitress friendly, knowledgeable and happy in her work.
Overall a very good experience indeed and would recommend if in Winchester city centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ldooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just had a great meal here. Starter of Beetroot and Apple suit was delicious, followed by coq au vin. Lovely old / historic feel about the pub. Well worth booking a table otherwise you may struggle. We'll be back..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great atmosphere and always busy and welcoming . Service was friendly and efficient , nice menu choice , freshly cooked and tasty . Portion size not consistent as some of the dishes were on small side ie scallops cut in half and one of teh smallest sea bass fillets I've even seen. Overall I would recommend trying this place out

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couperon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“"Entertinment doesn't get any better".”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I wish I could call myself a "local" but whilst chatting to Brian on Saturday and realising that he has been drinking there 42 years......... I have, with somewhat a heavy heart admitted that I am merely a newcomer to this institution.

Roaring open fires, well kept real ale (they do serve yellow fizzy stuff called larger but I can’t vouch for its quality) top quality service and a wine list we would all be proud of.

All the things I love about great pubs are here, chatty locals that entertain, dogs, dark corners where you can sit, eat and hide. Two bars for leaning and a child policy on the door keeping the small people away.

Bravo to the Wyk!

We will be back.......soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wykeham Arms also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing