We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely place to stay in Winchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giffard House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giffard House
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend staying in this beautifully restored Victorian house, which has much more character than a normal hotel. The room, service and breakfast was excellent, and it is a 10 minute walk in to town where you'll find the sites of this historical city and a great selection of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    54
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
173
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Spotless hotel,caring staff and great breakfast. Understand why it's ranked number one. Book with confidence.Staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. No iron/board in room but happily allowed access to laundry room without hesitation.

Room Tip: Front room was a little noisy with passing traffic but acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razortoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. We could not find any fault with this hotel, from the friendly welcome to the hand written invoice, everything was great. As other guest have mentioned the breakfast is fantastic with the staff going above and beyond to ensure everyone has what they requested and all prepared and presented to a very high standard. We will stay here again if we are ever back in the Winchester area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QCBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here following the reviews on Trip Advisor, we managed to get the last room in a very busy December period, it was on of the smaller rooms but still delightful!! There was a short wait for breakfast on both mornings but there was a very comfortable front room to wait in with daily newspapers and Jerry to keep you company (who my boyfriend fell in love with), on our second morning we were lucky enough to eat in the Sun Room, breakfast was delicious, fresh and hot!! Would definitely stay again, would try and book in advance to get a bigger room with a bigger bed and loved the Molten toiletries... we have been on the hunt for the mouthwash ever since!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our first trip to Winchester and we received a wonderful welcome at Giffard House. Our room, No 4, was fantastic, although at one point it did get cold but that was soon sorted out by the owners. Breakfast was exceptional, very busy so I would recommend getting to the dining room before 8.30am. It was nice to have the lounge to relax in with our friends after a hard days shopping at the Christmas markets. The hotel is only a 10-15 min walk into Winchester, so there were plenty of places to go for an evening meal. The only downside was for our friends who were allocated a room at the back of the hotel and they were kept awake by the trains going passed. I've also got to mention the affectionate Boxer dog Gerry, the beautiful cat and the very chatty parrot.

Room Tip: Room No 4 is fantastic, would recommend rooms at the front of the hotel, due to the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlrussell3
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

A last minute trip to the UK was blessed with a return to the Giffard House. Unfortunately, too many people are finding out about the place and it made my stay interesting. Yvonne worked me in and I stayed in four different rooms: 4, 14, 1, and 10 for the seven days I was here. I really love room 4 because of the comfortable couch that augments the room. Yet my favorite for this stay was room 1, which has a large bathroom. All of the rooms were spotless. All of the rooms were fun. I can't say enough about this 5 star bed and breakfast. It is my absolute favorite.

Room Tip: The drink is inexpensive and the sandwiches are a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrussell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Regularly travelling to Winchester I stay in a number of hotels/guest houses depending on availability but Giffard House is my preferred location for both myself and colleagues.

The rooms are well furnished and very clean. The beds are all of a high standard with more than enough pillows for any sleeper. The quality of furnishings is high. Certainly better than some of the mainstream hotels in town. There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms but an ironing / laundry room is made available to guests wanting to iron clothes.

Also of special note is the quality of the breakfast. A good choice of fruit salad and other cereals are available to help yourself to. Then freshly ordered and prepared full english, scrambled eggs and salmon and other specialities are available. Its nice to have things cooked to order rather than the usual rubbery fried eggs on a hot plate at a large hotel.

The wifi is free and certainly works in the majority of rooms that I've had recently.

The owners boxer dog who wanders around occasionally is always a docile and friendly chap who loves getting some attention.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giffard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giffard House

Property: Giffard House
Address: 50 Christchurch Road | St Cross, Winchester SO23 9SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Giffard House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Giffard Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing