We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”
Review of Giffard House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giffard House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Perfect! Our flight arrived early into London and therefore we arrived at Giffard house long before check in time. I had already communicated we would be early and did not expect rooms to be available, but did want to leave our car. Our rooms were available, though, and we were warmly and graciously welcomed. We had two rooms for two nights. This is a beautiful home--comfortable and clean with lovely touches that made our stay so nice. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. Excellent recommendations for restaurants and area attractions. They even provide umbrellas if you need them! The guest sitting room is a lovely place to relax as are the gardens. In residence is a beautiful, well behaved and friendly dog. He did not approach us, but when we wanted to meet him, he was happy to have our attention. Same with the cat. We also wanted to meet the parrot and were obliged. She is a beauty, but a little shy. (Especially around women.)

Breakfast is made to order and plentiful and they are willing to accommodate special diets.

Winchester is a small, walkable town. Giffard house is in a quiet, residential area that is only about a ten minute walk to the City Center and the sites are easy to find. Make sure you do find time to walk along the river as well, as it is lovely.

This is truly the best location and the parking right there is a BONUS! The house and accommodations are worth it alone--but the wonderful owners and staff really make this place an absolute jewel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsterof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    58
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
184
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Giffard House Hotel is a traditional sturdy English house converted into a hotel. Ceilings are 2-3 feet higher than we've become accustomed and, in conjunction with fine decoration and furniture and fittings, the whole place feels great.

It's hard to give a universal comment on the rooms because, unlike chain hotels, each room is different. We stayed in room 3 which is the largest and most expensive; for no other reason than that was the only one available. Very roomy, comfy and, for what I guess was a planning/space building compromise, two bathrooms!

Beds and pillows a bit on the firm side for my taste but everyone's different.

Breakfast was cooked to order, rather being kept warm under a silver plated dome for two hours, and was excellent quality.

Winchester centre is only 10 minutes walk up the road and we will definitely stay in Giffard House for our next visit.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners because each one is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night as a stopover whilst en route elsewhere. Would like to have stayed longer!
We arrived late afternoon & received a very friendly welcome from Yvonne. We were given a brief tour of the hotel facilities - very comfortable lounge, bar, outside patio area & a nicely appointed breakfast room. Our room was spacious, comfortably furnished with a king size bed, separate sitting area with a flatscreen TV and a good bathroom with high quality toiletries. Soft furnishings clearly of a very high quality - towels & bedding equally so.
WiFi worked well.
A very clean and well kept establishment.
Breakfast plentiful, freshly cooked to order and nicely served.
Although evening meals are not available in house, there is a very good selection of restaurants within 15 minutes easy walking distance. Yvonne was pleased to advise on the local alternatives and very helpfully booked a table for us at our chosen restaurant - very useful in an unfamiliar city.
All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Really liked the place. Clean and tidy, and a nice breakfast. The only downside for me was the fountain in the front garden which kept me awake most if the night. I did tell the owner in the morning and she said she could have turned it off, but it was too late then.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank markhiggins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night. It is a beautiful, large house with private parking, in a very quiet residential setting only a short walk into Town for sightseeing, shopping, and eateries. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and the bed extremely comfortable.The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downside to our stay was being woken by train noise on several occasions during the night. I don't think the line is used all night but on the first occasion we were disturbed, it was definitely still dark outside, and then the disturbance became more frequent after that. Next time we visit Winchester, I shall request one of the rooms at the front. Overall, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foss4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Giffard House for a single night on a recent visit to Winchester and thoroughly enjoyed the amenities and the attentive staff. My room was large (particularly for the UK), and the bath room was positively spacious with a deep bathtub and all the trimmings. The bed was comfortable, and the hotel very quiet (even though fully booked). Giffard House is located in a Victorian mansion above the city proper--about a 15-minute walk from High Street. The innkeeper greeted us upon our arrival and was so helpful in getting us a taxi so we could enjoy a late evening meal in town.

Breakfast the next morning was substantial and provided a good selection--continental items for those in a hurry or a full English breakfast for those with more leisure time to enjoy it. The free wifi was most helpful, and the downstairs lounge was a comfortable place to relax and enjoy the day's newspaper. The decor is absolutely beautiful, and I look forward to coming back with my tour group this fall!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a wonderful picture window overlooking the courtyard fountain, which makes for delightful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlrussell3
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I return to the Giffard House (three weeks in March 2013) and again I'm welcomed home by Peter & Yvonne. Three different rooms: 1, 3, and 12. All special. All unique. All perfect with absolutely no complaints. The rooms were quiet and spotlessly clean. The log fireplace in the sitting room was actively attended. You can sit back, relax, and enjoy. The food in the morning will delight you. I however am again reminded that writing such a review causes me problems because they bookings keep rolling in. Terrific WiFi now.

Room Tip: The WiFi is awesome now. New system. Full throttle to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlrussell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giffard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giffard House

Property: Giffard House
Address: 50 Christchurch Road | St Cross, Winchester SO23 9SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Giffard House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Giffard Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing