We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous dog friendly room”
other travelers have booked this property
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room Our dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room
Our dining area
Typical breakfast at Hardy House
Staircase to the guest room
Breakfast table in the garden, with the park beyond
Entrance to our house
View to the city centre taken from the park, just a few steps from our house
Winchester's medieval high street is car-free
Three of our guests!
Two of our guests travelling by tandem from Australia to France!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden House”
Reviewed June 1, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Hardy House was very difficult to find as there was no sign on the wall or anywhere else to let guests know this was the place. It really is just a bedroom in someone's home. No separate entrance therefore care needed to be taken with the two lovely dogs. Steep stairs lead to a very tiny, hot stuffy room with a nice view to the back garden. The large picture windows didn't open so the small bathroom window needed to be open for any ventilation at all. There was a kettle on one bedside table and a hairdryer on the other with a flimsy plastic chair offering the only seating apart from the bed. There was no hanging space in the robe "as it's our home" even though prices were comparable to a hotel and pre paid. Did I mention there was no lock on the door and unmatching scrungy old towels on the bed. We stayed about 15 minutes and left on the pretext of looking for lunch and never returned. It was a most unsatisfactory first experience of British hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2018
These people did not stay in our guest room. They didn't even see the room for more than one minute, as they arrived and the wife immediately asked to use the bathroom, then they left the house...taking our key with them.

Our normal check-in time is from 5pm, but they arrived at 10am. They looked most unhappy as they came out of their car, so we assumed they had been quarrelling or had a problem on the way here. They seemed to be unable to make their mobile phone work, which made the husband highly stressed.

When they left the house after using the bathroom (taking our front door key with them), they did not say anything or give any indication that they would not be coming back.

We waited up until late evening for their return, as we were unsure what time they would want breakfast the next day. We were also worried they had perhaps had an accident. Anyway, we laid out breakfast for them for the next morning.

By the next day we realised that the bedroom was still empty, but they still had our key. At that stage we understandably became worried about their strange behaviour. We took advice from a neighbour who also runs a B&B. On their advice we booked a locksmith to change the front door lock.

These people seemed to be expecting a hotel, even though our room is listed on Airbnb which means it's by definition a guest room in a private house and not a hotel with a sign outside or a ‘private entrance’. We also make it clear in the description that this is a small double room.

It was a moderately warm day, but as these people didn't stay in the room it meant that they didn't even ask about the windows or know about the temperature in it. The 'flimsy plastic chair' is a designer Philippe Starck Ghost Chair. Incidentally, we supply a hairdryer in case people haven't bought their own; and a kettle with cups, tea, coffee, milk and sugar for guests’ use. The towels are good quality Egyptian cotton from John Lewis – we have them in two complementary colours to match the room and bathroom. Anyway, these people did not use the towels, nor did they sit on the chair!

We’ve always had particularly good experiences with our Australian guests. These ones certainly do not do their countrymen proud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S
1 review
“Gorgeous dog friendly room”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed for a wonderful night here, along with our dog. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was beautiful - clean, quiet, all the amenities.
Highly recommend booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
It was a pleasure having you all to stay! Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb231
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for relaxing and close to city centre”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two nights. Felice and Peter were very helpful and accommodating as we required the sofa bed downstairs for an extra person. Would definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thanks for the nice review Neil. It was a pleasure having you all to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoshTotty...
From the UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room in great location in Winchester”
Reviewed October 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my cocker poo puppy, the hosts were so friendly and helpful, even walking half way across the park to show me how to get to the local pub for dinner. Lovely bright airy room, comfy bed and good shower too. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
It was a pleasure having you and your dog to stay. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyLaza...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet place with helpful hosts close to town”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely quiet place close to a park and the town. The path to town is steep but you can take the longer more gentle route. Felice and Peter are very pleasant hosts who suggested places of interest for us to visit and made us feel welcome.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
It was a pleasure having you to stay. I hop you enjoy the rest of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet 'chambre d'hote' near city centre”
Reviewed May 25, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

It's a charming room in a new extension to Victorian house: well equipped and with good quality fittings, including fascinating range of pictures. The situation s very quiet, though only a 10/15 minute walk to Winchester centre (takes longer coming back!) The owners were very friendly and welcoming - as were their dogs - and we enjoyed breakfast with quality cereals and fresh fruit and yogurts. Despite the labelling, this is NOT a holiday rental - no possibility for cooking or storing food. And it was strange that in a three day stay our towels were not changed, and we had to ask to have our tea-cups washed! But we enjoyed staying there.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. As we are a B&B in a private home - and not a hotel - we unfortunately can't offer towel changes or room service such as washing up cups left in the bedroom! In fact, we respect our guests' privacy, so we never enter their bedroom during their stay unless specifically requested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skds
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice clean and peaceful”
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Good communication before and an easy very pleasant stay. Felice was friendly and nice to chat with. Very well located close to the town. Will recommend to friends and family and hopefully stay again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Light and airy house and bedroom
Liked least: Room had tea but no coffee milk or spoon
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2016
So sorry, but I've only just seen your very nice review. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us - do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing