We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winchester Hotel & spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
N.Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place. Friendly staff. Nice room. Big bed. Big tv and free wifi. Didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner. We popped in to the bar and had a small glass of wine and bottle of kaliber. Thought oh it'll cost about 7 quid. Nah. Over 9 quid. The kaliber was £4.05. Outrageous. I know that u pay a bit extra for drinks in hotels but that was a joke. Brekkie was awesome. Buffet style but all fresh and hot. Organisation was a bit of a joke. Lacking in space to get the food. Tables were crushed together. But all the food was very good indeed.
The spa and jacuzzi were nice and steam room etc. All in all a good overnight stay. Definitely one of the best in winch. But need to address their prices and expand the buffet and seating area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flobbadobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    521
    222
    82
    48
See reviews for
187
873
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I booked two rooms here for a one night Fizz Break with my two daughters and a baby. We had adjoining rooms at the end of a corridor which was great apart from the squeaky adjoining door which was fixed the next day.
I very much enjoyed the stay and the facilities, but agree with previous reviewers about the coolness of the spa and the cold pool water. Also I was woken by water like sounds from the air conditioning unit during the night even though I switched it off.
The food, staff and service were very good without being overwhelming. I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very nice review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Never reviewed before but thought The Winchester deserved one. Got a cheap deal through a discount site and took our son and girlfriend away. Had a fantastic night at the hotel, excellent food in the restaurant we were well looked after and although the final bill was a bit pricey I can say I have only myself to blame. A great stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brianhop68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed a night at this hotel for a spa break on 1st Feb 2014.We have stayed at very many hotels at home and abroad and have to say this was no disapointment. The staff were very attentive and welcoming at all times, especially during dinner. The food was amazing and very well presented.Room was very comfy, clean and welcoming with lovely hot shower and bath grip handles, which are rarely found today.We had a massage in the beautiful spa and also used all the facilities which were immaculate. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We came to Winchester for relaxing weekend away from London. We have chosen this hotel because of it's spa facilities. The treatment I booked (massage) was marvellous, I absolutely loved it. Unfortunately the spa was a bit of disappointment - the pool and surrounding area were too cold to relax. People were shivering on their loungers covered by towels up to their noses. Few more degrees would make huge difference to the spa experience.

Buffet breakfast was very good and staff was very nice. Overall our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cytryna_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed overnight as we were part of a car club dinner on a Saturday evening.
The service and food was excellent. The food was served very quickly to everyone. The room was upgraded from the standard and was very good apart from only warm water at the sink tap. Not good for wet shaving!
The small hotel car park at the rear is a chargeable extra but the chargeable public car park in front of the hotel is free on Sundays.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed a few days at this hotel for business. The hotel was in a nice location, easy walking distance to the center of town and the train station in Winchester. The hotel itself was very nice. The staff was absolutely outstanding. They were all very friendly and helpful. I had a few issues (not with the hotel) that I needed help with and the staff went above and beyond helping me out. Of specific note, Fred the bartender was very friendly, happy, and helpful.

The only downside of the hotel was a little bit of noise in my room. It sounded like the water or heating system that just seemed to make some noise from time to time. It wasn't a major problem, but it did disturb my sleep from time to time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your EXCELLENT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing