We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed a few days at this hotel for business. The hotel was in a nice location, easy walking distance to the center of town and the train station in Winchester. The hotel itself was very nice. The staff was absolutely outstanding. They were all very friendly and helpful. I had a few issues (not with the hotel) that I needed help with and the staff went above and beyond helping me out. Of specific note, Fred the bartender was very friendly, happy, and helpful.

The only downside of the hotel was a little bit of noise in my room. It sounded like the water or heating system that just seemed to make some noise from time to time. It wasn't a major problem, but it did disturb my sleep from time to time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your EXCELLENT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. Every single member of staff was friendly and polite and we were acknowledged by each staff member that we met throughout the hotel. We thorougly enjoyed our dinner last night and breakfast this morning. One little niggle - the public car park in front of the hotel is free on Sundays, it would have been great if that had been pointed out to us. At a Marks and Spencer food outlet on the way to Winchester, the young man at the checkout pointed out that instead of buying two individual items it would be cheaper to buy a pack with two in, we commented on the good service. It doesn't take much to keep us happy as customers! That niggle aside, we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MJMNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I would recommend to avoid the spa packages here. The ladies changing facilities are tiny, cramped too hot and not clean at all! How they have 25 lockers in the ladies but only enough space for 4 ladies in that cramped area is baffling. In addition I was offered one towel only plus loan of a robe at the cost of a non refundable £7.50. The spa area itself is nice. I would recommend to avoid. The only reason I had a lovely day was because I was with my friend. The ladies changing facilities are tiny, cramped too hot and filthy! How they have 20ish lockers in the ladies but only enough space for 4 ladies in that cramped area is ridiculous! You're offered one towel only and a loan of a robe at the cost of a non refundable £7.50. The steam room is plastic and cramped. The sauna is tiny! The swimming pool was freezing cold and all areas again very dirty. The impossible thing about their spa day packages is that you have to be dressed to use the the hotel.

All in all I let not feeling I got my money's worth

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Whilst I accept that like any business we can never `get it right` every single time I am afraid that i do have to disagree with you that our Spa and changing facilities are cramped and dirty - as you have suggested. Equally your view is very much at odds with other reviews on this site and others, and the direct customer feedback.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel. We had the 'heritage package' which was great value for money. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. We had a 3 course meal included which was fantastic, good choice on menu and beautifully presented. Breakfast had everything you could wish for and replenished all the time. The hotel is a ten minute walk into Winchester so your car can be left in the car park during your stay. They even threw in entrance to the cathedral which was well worth the visit. The spa area is small but is a bonus after a day of sight seeing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24Carol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic hotel, attentive staff, great facilities and location. Having never been to Winchester before I was sceptical about going to a hotel that wasn't a big chain but wow! Everything was great and I will defiantly be going again. If I had to pick on anything and I am being picky, it would be that the pool is small. Other than that everything was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the assistant a manager and young bar man were very helpful. Loved it

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abcd101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Room had everything you could ask for and was spotlessly clean.
I am a very light sleeper and I don't usually enjoy staying in hotels however I had a very comfortable nights sleep.
This hotel is very well run and well worth a visit. Not the cheapest but certainly excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
670 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
1,031 reviews
5.7 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $107 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing