We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Winchester Hotel and Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Hotel & spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    483
    202
    76
    46
See reviews for
163
796
41
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel. We had the 'heritage package' which was great value for money. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. We had a 3 course meal included which was fantastic, good choice on menu and beautifully presented. Breakfast had everything you could wish for and replenished all the time. The hotel is a ten minute walk into Winchester so your car can be left in the car park during your stay. They even threw in entrance to the cathedral which was well worth the visit. The spa area is small but is a bonus after a day of sight seeing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Carol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Fantastic hotel, attentive staff, great facilities and location. Having never been to Winchester before I was sceptical about going to a hotel that wasn't a big chain but wow! Everything was great and I will defiantly be going again. If I had to pick on anything and I am being picky, it would be that the pool is small. Other than that everything was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the assistant a manager and young bar man were very helpful. Loved it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abcd101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Room had everything you could ask for and was spotlessly clean.
I am a very light sleeper and I don't usually enjoy staying in hotels however I had a very comfortable nights sleep.
This hotel is very well run and well worth a visit. Not the cheapest but certainly excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Winchester hotel is fairly priced and located ideally close to the railway station. Me and my partner had a function here and I have to say it was perfect. The really have things down to a T. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The food was great, no complaints at all for this place. Rooms were clean and modern with fast internet access. Our room even had a TV in the bathroom. I honestly can say this is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your AMAZING review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the hotel to visit the Christmas market, as we live in Surrey we wouldn't normally stay overnight but wanted to make a weekend of it and also went by train. I'd echo one review in that the hotel does have a corporate feel but the room was very comfortable and the food excellent. Service was very good and staff friendly., We didn't use the spa so couldn't comment on that. Overall excellent but it is a little way out of the city, still only a walk but don't expect views of the cathedral.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDaniels51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your EXCELLENT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Arrived at the hotel on the 30.12. Booked in quickly. Room large and comfortable (we had been allocated a "disabled" so huge bathroom). Evening meal was part of the two day package - very good. As the bar did not have "real ale" for hubby went out and found a good pub, the Jolly Farmer, friendly and efficient staff who made us very welcome. Turn right at the end of Worthy Lane a bit of a walk but worth it. Breakfast - plenty to choose from. Service a bit slow due to large number of guests. New Year Gala evening was great. Good food and excellent DJ, playing our type of music - danced all night!! Next morning late breakfast and checkout which was much appreciated. Well done to all the staff at the Winchester.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchester
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel
Winchester Royal Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing