We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central, but a little bland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
332 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very central, but a little bland”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting Winchester for a wedding. The hotel is very central and has all mod cons, as well as a gym and spa (which I didn't use). The room was very clean and looked nice and the facilities good. We had breakfast both days, which was nice. My only criticisms would be that it's not very green (i.e. every view seems to be of car parks) and the staff in the restaurant seemed a bit grumpy. Apart from that it was very nice and I'd recommend it if you want a central stay in the beautiful city that is Winchester.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony_of_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    570
    239
    86
    54
See reviews for
209
960
43
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on leisure break. Nice hotel, evening meal was very nice, but a number of people complaining about their steaks so we avoided that. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Facilities were good nice spa, although pool to small to actually swim in. Location good about 10 mins walk at a pace into town. Breakfast nice although on Sunday they did not seem to be able to cater for number of guests and we sat in bar and did not have any eggs. Overall nice pleasant stat Nd would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights as we had travelled from Northern Ireland for a family wedding in Winchester,we flew into Southampton Airport and got a train to Winchester station which took about 10-15mins and is a short walk to the hotel.We were greeted at reception by a very friendly member of staff who explain all we need to know on arrival,and checked in and shown to our room,the room was very spacious and beautifully furnished with two resting comfy chairs and small table, and a rather large comfortable bed,a lovely welcome tray with teas,coffees and snacks and complimentary bottled water in the fridge,also there is a safe inside the double wardrobe for you valuables.The breakfast was buffet style,with a very good choice of juice,cereal,porridge,pastries,cooked breakfast,fruit and tea and coffee. we look forward to comming back sometime in the future,thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 225 and we were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuttle142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went here as a surprise from my boyfriend for our anniversary . When we arrived the staff were extremely helpful. We arrived at 10 am but they let us check in. Parking was not great, small narrow car park. However, staff said no disabled guests were staying so we were told we could park there which was good.

When we got to our room (we stayed in the diamond suit) I was really impressed. Lovely big bed, amazing selection of tea and coffee. Nice big TV, however a little small to be called a 'suite' but still a lovely room. The bed was so comfortable!! The pool area was nice but was smaller than I expected for a spa. However, really enjoyed using it.

The hotels location is not great. 20 walk to the cathedral, no big issue but could have been better.

We had a few drinks at the bar and it was outrageously overpriced, even by hotel standards. I paid around £13 for a G&T!!!

Breakfast was really good, good selection of things- I enjoyed it a lot.

Overall, I really enjoyed the stay. It was a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Nothing special, but I have no particular gripes about the hotel. It is a little further out of town than expected, not suitable for the non-abled bodied. The rooms were OK and the car parking fine. The bed was perfectly comfortable.
But we'd had a better stay in a Premier Inn the night before.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked the hotel a good five months ago. We were not disappointed. The room was a very high standard with extras not mentioned when we booked the room. Such as an Iron and ironing board, a safe, and a fridge with two bottles of spring water already chilled. The bed was sooooo comfortable and a very good nights sleep was had the one night that we stayed. The hotel had a very good atmosphere in the evening with very comfortable seating around the bar area. The outdoor decking area was wounderful, with comfortable seating, good lighting and a heater. This area was also no smoking, a bonus to us as non smokers. The breakfast was fantastic with such a choice of food. The waiter service was very good with a good supply of coffee and tea :) The hotel is in a very good location to access the centre of Winchester, which is only a ten minute walk away. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The room we booked had a king size bed which was more spacious than a double which our friends booke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perryshperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I booked the hotel at short notice in response to a family emergency and felt, given the short notice, the price was fair. It's a comfortable hotel although the geography of the second floor was a tad confusing. I eventually found my room and then made the mistake of coming down by the stairs - and landed up in the spa. Some clearer signage would not go amiss. Breakfast was more than adequate. Very convenient for the city centre.

Room Tip: Be patient with the geography
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaPaYoYoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing