We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
bermuda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My best friend and I booked for a 2 night stay at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. We arrived on Friday 8th February at midday and were able to check into our room immediately.
The room itself (221) was adequate in size but cold when we first got there. To operate the heating, you need to put the room key card into the AC slot. It took a while to warm up, so we kept one room card permanently in the slot, even when going down for meals etc.
We were lucky enough to be able to book a treatment at the Spa, but I fear had we arrived on Saturday, this would not have been possible as it was so busy. I had a back, neck and shoulder massage and my friend had an express facial. Both treatments cost £32 and were very good.
Breakfast was really good. All food was freshly cooked, and there was a great choice. Orange juice or apple juice, cereals, pastries, cold meats, fruits, yogurts, bacon, sausage, eggs beans, tomatoes, hash browns, mushrooms, toast and tea or coffee.
We ate in the Hotel restaurant both nights. We had intended to go into Winchester on Saturday night, but the weather was awful so we stayed put. The food on both nights was excellent. Friday night we both had a starter and main course, and on Saturday we had a main course and dessert. The price for 2 courses was £18.50. We had a reasonably priced bottle of french sparkling wine for £23 and this too was very good. Our waitress, Elzbieta, was very good.
I agree with previous reviews with regards to the bar selection in the main bar. Wines by the glass are very expensive, and the selection is very limited-only Pint Grigio as a white wine on offer by the glass. This should be addressed by hotel management as it would enhance guests enjoyment of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank overseaslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    575
    244
    88
    55
See reviews for
209
975
45
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight stay for £99 for 2 people, including afternoon tea, 3 course dinner and breakfast; why on earth can these reviews complain about that? You would pay more in a grotty Travelodge and this hotel was very good. Had excellent food with good choices on the 3 course menu. Spa good, albeit the pool is small. Hotel decorated in a very contemporary and comfortable way; all staff were very pleasant. We would definitely return if a similar package was on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor and you won't get noise of people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleming75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in room 4 on the spa package. Check-in was efficient and smooth. We were very impressed with every staff member we met they were all friendly, helpful and professional. The bar restaurant was outstanding with delicious food and excellent service. The receptionist was great she dealt with all our queries with no trouble. Buffet breakfast was lovely and not too busy. Our room was spotless and quite spacious for a standard double. The spa treatment was fantastic; we had the massage and facial both very relaxing. We also enjoyed the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi although the pool was quite small and could use a little heating up. Can't comment on the gym or room service although we'll definitely use both when we return! Overall, in our view the hotel was great value for money, thoroughly deserving of its 4 stars and made for a lovely weekend away. Thanks to all the staff and management for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Things to understand: good: cleanliness, modern decor, airiness, size of rooms, service, attention to quality, food range and cooking, both evening meals and buffet style English and continental style breakfast, cream tea (scones contain raisins). The stay was vey good and you will be pleasantly pleased by all the above so read on as guidance rather than significant criticism
Things to watch: you need to book the spa ( disappointed not provided with this advice on arrival); the picture of the hotel is deceptive ( I have a thing about this type of customer foolery - large municipal car park out front, and hotel parking at the rear) this is not set in appealing surroundings; the invisible man plays the piano in the evening and needs a better repertoire; the drinks are expensive, a glass of sparkling wine refused at £7.00 a glass, wine list pricy, range of quality beers and lagers could be better

Room Tip: Standard of rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed on 28/1/2013 a good deal £99 including breakfast and an evening meal which included cream tea.
Good points: Parking free and under cover lots of spaces. Facilities in the hotel were quite good. Great value for a good 4 star hotel well deserves it rating. Fairly good food for a Hotel and reasonably priced. Clean and tidy well decorated rooms with good beds and a large bathroom rooms also had lots of space and fairly modern TV also internet access.was available.
Bad points The staff were very stuffy.Took lots of calls to get hold of room service. The choice of drinks was the worst I can recall no Stella lager or Peroni no Magners cider or draqught Guinnes only 3 medioacre draught beers available.The wine list limited uninspiring and way over the top on price. Bar shut at 11pm then you had to have room service at a premium rate..The swimming pool is more like a large bath not big enough to swim in. Loud commercial radio station during breakfast very disconcerting. A novel idea having a grand piano that played CDs but only average sound.
The Hotel is well situated near to Winchester and has great parking.so we booked on a special deal on the internet. On arrival found the receptionist like many of the staff a bit stuffy she was not rude but certainly had no warmth in her voice not interested in us at all. My partner who is quite reluctant to comment in most cases mentioned this to me after we had checked in. Our room was very good in all respects extremely clean lots of space and we only had a standard twin. The decorating was very modern perhaps a little dark to my taste but ok.After a lovely warm bath went for a drink before our evening meal about 6pm service prompt and curtious but the choice of drinks unreal for a guest house never mind a 4 star Hotel needs some one who is interested to sort the bar out. Choice wise this has got to be the very worst choice for drinks I have seen. Guy behind the bar was pleasant and even he admitted that there had been simular comments made especially about the wine menue. A very basic £6 in a supermarket run of the mill bottle started at £32 not on. If they are going to charge £32-£60 then lets have a reasonable wine that some one has at least made an effort to source.The evening meal was quite good better than most Hotels which tend to be fussy over processed food steak well cooked prompt service a little too formal though for my liking a smile would have been welcomed. After vittels we changed and sloaped off to the health and fitness suite. This was very clean and modern fantastic jacuzzi steam room and fairly good sauna/ The pool was very small if you pushed off you would bang your head on the other side after 1 swimming stroke but at least the water was really warm and included in the cost of the stay. Sadly after a short bash in the stem room and a swim it was moving towards closing time of 10pm so never tried the Gym but it looked fantastic. Overall health suite I would rate as excellant apart from the pool size.. We got changed then had time for 1 drink before it was announced that the bar would be closing at 11pm. We were offered 24 hour room sevice but at premium prices.The piano played some good music in the lounge area but the sound of a CD piano is not great? The bar attendant told us it does sound much better when actually played but that it had only been played once such as shame for a baby grand piano. We had a comfortable nights sleep it was perhaps too warm in our room but better than being cold. Breakfast was good usual bacon eggs sausage mushrooms about the min you would expect. A toast machine would have been an inprovement in my opinion and some greek yogurt fruit juice was not freshly squeezed. We checked out after breakfast the lady at reception was a touch more human and all went well.
Overall I would stay again but after a couple of days I think I would have had enough. Certainly this justifies its 4 star rating and it is a good quality hotel but needs inspirational management to make even further inprovements with the exception of the swimming pool would be relatively easy to implement.I hope that the manager or owner of this hotel reads my reveiw and others as a good hotel could be excellant so easily the basics are mostly right.

Room Tip: If you like half decent wine best to bring your own as their wine list is uninspiring and that is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryfanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

On the same coach as whackyofdymchurch but don't know who they are! I say coach but there were in fact 2 coaches so some 90+ people altogether and the hotel staff coped magnificently. Everybody was friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble despite the hotel being full with ourselves and other independent travellers. Food was fresh, well cooked and served properly. Staff are certainly well trained to a good standard. Although quite close to the town centre it is a bit hilly and we were told takes about 10 minutes; we took a taxi which for a 'fiver' was far easier. Rooms were clean and comfortable as were the public areas. Would book this hotel if we come to Winchester again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a lovely welcome when we arrived all our cases were taken from the coach and whilst we waited to be issued with our keys our luggage was taken to our rooms and waiting for us. Room was large and inviting spasious wardrobes plenty of drawer space TV hair dryer iron and board and a good shower as well.

As we was a large group we had our evening meals in the crystal room well laid out and inviting the staff were friendly and efficient meals were well done and hot (well done to all in the kitchens and waiting staff) so nice to have a meal that is still hot. And the choice was good as well, and the afternoon cake was wonderful both the black forest gatueax and the carrot cake were both lovely and moist.

The breakfasts were served in the Huttons room buffet style but toast and tea coffee was served at table the only downside was that we was such a large group you had to wait for a table (maybe we should have had our breakfast in the crystal room as well) again all the staff were helpful and friendly.

We did find that the bar prices were a bit steep but it is a hotel after all.

On the Friday night we had a very wet windy night that put the TVs in the rooms one side of the hotel out of action and unfortunately no engineer till Monday so not able to wind down with a bit of telly before bed.

This hotel is a spa as well and I booked a massage for the saturday evening after a trip out I had to fill a form and discuss any medical issues that I might have and then went into a treatment room where I was asked to choose the oil that I would like and then left to uh undress and lay on the bed ready for the young lady to come back and I will say it is the best 45 minute massage I have had in a long time as I have a lot of shoulder issue she did very well and relived a lot of my pain for me (thank you for the best nights sleep in a long time normally only get 2 hrs because shoulder wakes me up) no pain that night. Only wished I had longer there to maybe have nails/pedicure and other treatments.

We would stay here again well done all.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room above spa as was told it could be noisy as there is a generater like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whackyofdymchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#6 of 13 in Winchester
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winchester Hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Property: The Winchester Hotel & spa
Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing