We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer”
Review of Queen Inn Pub

Queen Inn Pub
Ranked #50 of 203 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A pub set on the outskirts of the city of Winchester, a short walk from the cathedral and Winchester College.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beer”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had a nice meal here on our trip to Winchester, its a little out of town so ask for directions, especially if a real ale fan. They had 10 rear ales on, including 4 straight from the cask..don't see that often! My husband was very happy.....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank salandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    14
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall a very good lunch”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The queen inn is a very pretty pub about a 10min walk from the city centre.
I stumbled upon it whilst on a ramble with friends and decided to go back the next day for lunch.
They have their own brewery on site which is fascinating and the staff were very knowledgeable about the process etc. we had a selection of ales, all were spot on and tasty, although one pint was a little to warm for me, could have been the first pint of day.
Service was good throughout and the food matched the service. This was good honest pub food, nothing fancy, but done well. We has an hour for lunch and my only niggle is that we needed all that time, the food did take 30minutes to arrive. Which is fine if your not in a rush. Overall a very good pub with character and good ales.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwenwatson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub, fresh food, good value...”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

...and good atmosphere with log fires going. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food when we had dinner here last week. Much better than some of the pubs nearer/in the city centre. Really good value for Winchester. Generous portion sizes. Would certainly go back here.
2x mains, drinks and pudding £35. Can't go wrong!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussy_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warm, Welcoming pub with fantastic service and even better food!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This pub is just a short walk outside of the Winchester City Centre and it is such a lovely place to go! On sunny warm days they have two gardens, one out front and one out the back, and for those cold rainy days, they have a lovely log fire going inside, making it a lovely atmosphere for any weather.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming and always make sure that you have everything you need.
The food is incredible! I think it's the best pub food I have ever had, and I have been there quite a few times, never once being disappointed! Great food and good portion sizes too.

This is definitely one to visit if you are in Winchester!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stopped at the pub by chance - lunch before getting on M3 for final leg of trip for our holiday. Great pub, very pretty and cosy, we all had hot sandwiches which were delicious. Would definitely recommend. Very helpful staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Inn Pub also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Queen Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing