We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ab Fab”
Review of Crown and Anchor

Crown and Anchor
Ranked #93 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A Traditional British pub serving Great British Food. Under new Ownweship, with a new menu and great deals. Come and try us for a great evening out or a great meal.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ab Fab”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Always a lovely welcome. The food is sensational. I am coeliac, Dave always comes up with a huge choice for my diet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99Jan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    47
    21
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing fish”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The most amazing choice of fresh fish served with quality veggies. Thanks to Dave, my wife who is coeliac also has a wide choice. I never seem to get passed the skate with capers. Its an absolute favourite! Nic always provides a great welcome, a great hostess.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StainesGazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with excellent food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I had a very good meal here a few weeks ago while staying in Winchester. The menu was extensive with an emphasis on fish. I had the skate and my husband had mussels. Both were delicious and good size portions. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Delicious! Fresh fish! Great value! Good find! Not a flashy pub but who cares all we want is good food and thats what we got. Would recommend the fish and chips which was fresh fish not frozen like most other places ive been

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carriebo1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best place for darts and chips”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Yummy chips and learnt how to play darts. My friend had a fluffy omellette with chorizo in it which was exsquisite. Another friend had chicken goujons which were briliant in her words. Brilliant place to revise no nutters and as three girls we felt very safe we even wanted to stay the night as Dave was so cool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Anchor also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Crown and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing