We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place for a quick snack”

Winchester Cathedral Refectory
Ranked #81 of 203 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cathedral Refectory is one of Winchester’s hidden gems, sheltered behind an ancient flint wall opposite the Cathedral. Its award-winning contemporary design, large terrace with Cathedral views and pretty walled garden make it a great place to meet friends for a coffee, lunch or afternoon tea. Opening hours Apr – Dec: Mon – Sun, 9.30am – 5.00pm Jan – Mar: Mon – Sun, 9.30am – 4.30pm Our approach Our chefs place a strong emphasis on serving home-cooked meals using fresh locally sourced ingredients. All our cakes and biscuits are made on the premises by the Cathedral baker. Our volunteer Cathedral Refectory Helpers play an invaluable role – greeting visitors, serving food and keeping everything spick and span. Location Situated beyond the Cathedral Shop, the Refectory offers a quiet location. Its wide glassed front looks onto a spacious slate paved terrace with café tables, chairs and parasols, sheltered by ancient flint and brick walls and a shady fig tree. Behind the refectory is a peaceful walled garden – a green space with lawns, picnic tables and a fine willow tree. Access and facilities The Refectory and terrace are both fully accessible, with toilet facilities in the building and also in the courtyard outside, including disabled access and baby-changing facilities.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“nice place for a quick snack”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

A nice place to sit and enjoy a snack after a cathedral visit. I stopped in for a scone and soda as a little refresher. They do offer beer also. The scone was tasty but they do charge extra for butter and jam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    58
    33
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A secret gem....in the heart of Winchester”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I add this recommendation for those who are visit this beautiful city.

Should you find yourselves seeking refreshment, from a simple cup of tea to a lunch or afternoon tea, may I point you towards where the locals go.

Adjacent to the west front of the cathedral is the Cathedral Refectory, a modern building, built in keeping with the surrounding serving excellent teas, coffees, cakes and hot and cold meals, at very reasonable prices.

We have visited here often, never been disappointed and always managed to find a table.

We would recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerlepp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Not a lot of food on offer,very pricey and staff not really interested in their job or customer. My jacket potato was cold and no butter provided,staff not all helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoriRedhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime with my wife, it was busy but not packed. The facilities were very clean and bright, and the general ambience was quite modern vibrant & busy. The staff were very friendly & upbeat. I had a main meal of steak & kidney pie with mash & vegetables (swede carrots peas); it was properly cooked with the vegetable not overdone. I had a good helping and it was very tasty, my wife had Lasagne with garlic bread and salad, which she also thought was very good. The cost for the two meals (we just had water) was about £18 which although not cheap it was of such excellent quality we would really recommend others visit the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Refreshing Refectory”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a busy morning in the city and not requiring a full lunch we adjourned to the delightful modern airy refectory. We had a little trouble accessing the entrance as due to the rain a section of the exterior was cordoned off; in drier conditions we could have sat outside also to the rear. Nevertheless we enjoyed a large slab of delicious homemade Christmas cake,a little dry, but not too sweet and shared a large sausage roll. Excellent breakfast tree in silky teabags and for my wife a fruit tea served in proper china. All the staff were cheery and helpful and had we wished there was a selection of hot dishes. The bill came to a very reasonable £7.05 and afterwards we browsed next door in the Cathedral shop which for the moment has some interesting reduced price Christmas decorations and preserves.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winchester Cathedral Refectory also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Winchester Cathedral Refectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing