We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much bigger than expected”

The Royal Green Jackets Museum
Ranked #8 of 71 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Winchester's five superb Military Museums telling the story of 250 years of campaigning for peace by The Royal Green Jackets and their former regiments, the 43rd and 52nd (The Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire Light Infantry), the 60th (The King's Royal Rifle Corps) and the 95th Rifles (The Rifle Brigade). An outstanding collection of uniforms, weapons, silver, paintings and medals set over two floors. The exhibition on the first floor, entitled 'With the Rifles to Waterloo', opened in 2015 to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Waterloo. The centrepiece of the exhibition is the 25 square metre model of the battle with light and sound commentary. The museum is situated in Peninsula Square, formerly the barracks and the home of the Rifle Depot.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Much bigger than expected”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Popped in here as my daughter is in the ACF (Rifles) to find out a little history. Loads to see and read, almost too much! Good value and worth a second visit for a closer look at the things we skipped.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank snailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    44
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bursledon, Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A reminder of the remains of Hampshire's historic contribution to the preservation of the UK”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is a valuable reminder of the sacrifices made by the men of Hampshire, the historic very close links of the original Saxon connection between the Army and the Shires of England Now utterly overturned and destroyed by Blairs government.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I need to brush up on our history more!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow wasn't our last 100 years of history eventful! this is just brilliant and I was never in the Army. The Rifles were everywhere. It's like a potted history of everything the Great British empire did. Best £3 i've ever spent. 3 hours and i didn't get through everything. I skipped over the upstairs which should be started first. Brilliant!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bazzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hugely informative. Take your time, don't rush it.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lots of information about the regiment's battles, lots of artifacts, including weapons, medals and uniforms. Also great account of the genesis of this unit which was truly ground-breaking in the British army.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrewmsailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a great piece of history”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have visited this museum many times in the past , as i lived in Winchester for 21 years. It has very good displays well laid out and fully documented.If you want to find out the history of The Royal Green Jackets this is the place to visit . They are an important part of the history of Winchester and their importance should not be under estimated. I can still remember as a boy seeing them march into the city centre and parade in front of King Alfred statue.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank madmike60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Green Jackets Museum also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Royal Green Jackets Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing