We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country House hotel in the middle of a small city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Country House hotel in the middle of a small city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Lovely place to stay, conveniently situated near the centre of this beautiful little city.

We had a room located on the first floor over-looking the main street (it was noisy from traffic when we opened the window). Next time I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. The room was beautifully decorated with large en-suite. Everything you needed was there. My only gripe was that the mood lighting in the room meant you could not read, nor apply makeup. Even in the bathroom the lighting was poor. Perhaps it was just this room.....
Otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    165
    113
    61
    22
See reviews for
85
322
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the quality and service of this hotel. The staff was very friendly from the moment we walked in.
Downstairs in the hotel there is nice but small bar. It is open to the general public too, so gets very packed. The restaurant is lovely too, we made a mistake by not booking the table in advance but the receptionist managed to squeeze us in just after the last seating.

The location of the hotel is great. It is walking distance from the train station and close to all major attractions.
Overall the place is pricy but very nice indeed.

Tip: we booked a standard room only option ( and were not disappointed) but if you wish to upgrade, note that after I ve done the standard booking, I have received an email offering me an upgrade options that would have worked out cheaper than normal online booking. Upgrade options are also available on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great location, easy parking, good room, good staff, all the usual for HdV. It was relatively empty and quiet and our 2nd floor room could use a spruce up however the food, as ever, very good and the breakfast served hot and quickly. That's why we both stay regularly, it is a quality service for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: First floor rooms/suites seem to be the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denzils_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Hotel du Vin chain offers comfort with individuality and even quirkiness. The Winchester location could hardly be handier - you could even see the Cathedral from our room - and is a cosy, comfortable. well-run establishment. Our room was nicely furnished though could do with a small armchair (a room with only one chair..?), well appointed, even a Nespresso coffee machine; nicely styled bathroom. Only real complaint was that it was too fashionably dim - it was impossible to read a newspaper after sundown. Delightful courtyard garden. Friendly staff. Free parking. Shirts £5. Restaurant reviewed separately.

Room Tip: Rooms do vary in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent a fab night at Hotel du Vin Winchester last week. Lovely atmosphere and decor. Restaurant great – delicious vegetarian options too, and good wine. Staff welcoming and attentive; nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyed the new cocktail bar and sampled a 'few' cocktails – well you have to don’t you? Warning: do not have more than one Zombie! Overall experience was first class and I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have just been treated by my best friend for my 50th! birthday to a lovely stay at this beautiful hotel. The restaurant was absolutely superb, we had 3 courses with some house champagne, the starter was my favourite, leak and celeriac pie with blue cheese straws, my mouth is watering just thinking about it again. The room was splendid too, as you would expect from Hotel du Vin, but I always judge a hotel by the service, and I am delighted to say it was first class. The staff were extremely attentive, professional and made me feel very special. We really enjoyed our evening at the new cocktail bar which has just opened within the hotel, it's called Bar 20 and is run by a very experienced and amazing cocktail barista, I tried a few different ones (whoops!) and each one was superb, only the finest ingredients are used, and it shows. Try one (or two). Thank you hotel du vin Winchester for making my birthday a memorable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I don't normally go in for reviews etc but simply had to share complete dissatisfaction with our experience at what is described as as top hotel in the Winchester area.
It was my wife and I anniversary, we don't get to eat out much these days, what with a young child but when a friend offered to baby sit we thought we would push the boat out a bit, well I wished we had stayed in harbour and gone to the 'chippy,
Table booked for 8.30, arrived early for a drink at the bar but so packed took almost 20 mins to get served, at about 8.50 I enquired as to dealy with , only to be miraculously shown to our table. Menus followed very quickly only for bread to take about 20mins. Starters, I ordered chicken liver parfait which I think was biked in from tesco, my wife ordered sauteed mushrooms which turned out only to be drier than the burnt toast which accompanied my parfait. Almost a full hour later mains arrived, my wife ordered a very mediocre baked cod with lentils (green salad extra) whilst I went for the moules mariniere. The actual mussels were OK and was provided a spoon for the liquor, unfortunate then that it was only slightly less salty than the north sea. Did we stay for pud or coffee, well a trip to the late night garage for a mars bar seemed a safer bet. Insult was only added to injury when following payment of the bill we found out that my wife's mother and father had already put £50 on the tab for us to have a good time, luckily they realised this mistake at the end and refunded us the money. Would I recommend the Hotel du vin, I think not.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 14 Southgate Street, Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing